Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ultimatum

by Asbrion - Jam Entry

This game is meant to be played with one mobile device (players taking turns). The web build is only for game testing.
We recommend to read instructions well before starting the nuclear war.
Have fun.

Ultimatum by Team Asbrion:
Juha Ylimaki: Visuals
Kim Valori: Programming
Veli Laamanen: Sounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Innovation(Jam)3.79
#134Overall(Jam)3.62
#136Graphics(Jam)4.04
#170Audio(Jam)3.50
#173Fun(Jam)3.42
#259Mood(Jam)3.32
#306Theme(Jam)3.33
#520Humor(Jam)2.06
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I liked the concept, it reminded me of a table game called War, could get better with online multiplayer.

FacticiusVir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I played a game against myself and everyone lost.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Add more options for the planets... such as trading, stock piling, spend 1 turn to upgrade weapons...etc. Make it mobile w/ Faceboook API or whatever and you've got a seller. Lots of potential here.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51pm

That was fun. Good multiplayer game :)

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04pm

The game is amazingly well done, but still simple. Actually the idea of passing around the mobile device, is a really great idea for social gaming, actually it could really be a great base for a Diplomacy game.

Because i played it alone, i feel a lack of choice, but that's enough for several player around a mobile device.

The Title Screen is magical.

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Great little game, well polished, but I think it needs more game mechanics depth. Maybe an alliance makes planets richer, and interplanetary missile cost money. Invasions, spies, armies, factories, farms, solar systems not just worlds.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

cool game... i like the social interaction forced by the game... cause every one can talk witch each other about some things... making offers... betray... cool stuff. tagged as social game

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Neat concept, gorgeous execution. Sounds were a little lacking for me, and it would have been nice if the missiles took slightly different paths. Overall, fun little tie killer between friends.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I played this by myself but I could see the potential for intrigue of playing with your friends. Very cool!

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32pm

It would be nice on tablet with friends. Or over LAN. Also with more diplomatic options, like resources and stuff.

I liked the experience, however i played alone. I hope you will continue the development after LD.

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Really amazing visuals.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

It is a good game but I would be happy to see some AI mode, something to make the game playable by person :)

01101101 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Very good. We had a good laugh!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]