Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flip World

by MJ Mantis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use bottomless pits to evade hazards!


Left Right / A D ----- Move
Space ---------------- Jump
R ----------------------- Restart
- + --------------------- Change Volume


UPDATE: Re-uploaded web and source with the following changes (all of which are bug fixes):
- Made continuous loops a little easier to get out of in case you get stuck.
- Fixed bug where player would lose velocity when tapping jump.
- Added some blocks to prevent getting stuck in the first cave area.
- Added Restart button for the end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#140Fun3.62
#196Innovation3.66
#215Theme3.72
#335Overall3.43
#515Mood3.04
#713Humor2.12
#757Graphics2.79
#868Audio2.00

Comments

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20am

pretty cool!
Smoother controls would be nice, and more checkpoints on the second level

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

Perfect! You made a simple platformer in terms of graphics, left out the music, but - but there was nothing missing! no wonky controls, no bugs! Also it was not too short! Nice game.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42am

One of the better games, for shore. Checkpoints appropriately spaced, something that is hard to achieve, good job.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Great game in general, I just missed some indication of which side I am. It would be cool if you work out in a complete version of this in future. Nice job.

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Nice platformer, although it made me a bit nauseous. Well done :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52am

Congrats on your game! Oh man this game is cool but I just couldn't get past some of the sections due to my stupid brain not being able to comprehend the world flip. That's no fault of the game though and I wish I was better at it. A backing track would have been cool. Cheers, Ben.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55am

Fun gameplay, but easy to get disoriented.

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02am

Really hard .. But i quite liked the puzzles ... & the gameplay .. I get confused with the flipping of the character when flipping the worlds though ..

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07am

This is definitely one of the better games I've played so far. It's tricky, but not so tricky as to discourage playing. The numerous checkpoints are good as well. It did give me a bit of motion sickness, though, and I don't find myself suffering from that often.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:09am

This is one of the best games I've seen so far. My eyes hurt a little from the constant rotation ;)

jthistle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20am

Nice concept

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28am

old school platformer, I love it. GJ.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

This was a really good idea/concept. It got pretty 'stressful' after awhile, but it was really fun. Great job!

grifdail says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:30pm

This is insanely hard ! The fact that the world rotate instead of just flip (and the direction change so) is a great idea, but after about 15min i still cannot "integrate" it...

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Nice base for this platformer, good job!

Shide says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:03am

Just great!
I wrote, what I thoght in Newgrounds page, but I can do it again =)
Simple idea, but interesting and hardcore gameplay do great thing - 5 out of 5 game.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:14am

Great use of the theme and the simple designs worked really well. Think reversing the colours in the opposing world would help distinguish them a bit more, but besides that really enjoyed it.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Sort of challenging at first, but then became boring, and seemed impossible. :\

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Really interesting concept though when you flip it would be better if the player wasn't suddenly facing the other direction, also the flipping animation was making me feel ill.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]