Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Islands

by klusi0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Feeling like going on an adventure?
Be a merchant, travel the world, fight pirates and make visit different cities across the ocean.

WEB VERSION REQUIRES Unity 4.6 BETA!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#464Fun3.14
#478Graphics3.20
#638Overall3.13
#724Theme3.00
#855Innovation2.77
#864Mood2.63
#871Humor1.81
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02am

Interesting use of the theme, congrats!
The combats are cool, kinda mess but cool :D.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

Pretty cool idea. I like the simplified ship combat with the adjustable speeds. It's just a small thing but I really wanted there to be a wave trail behind the ship, it felt a little weird haha :P Cool island graphics as well, good job!

Otopkin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20am

The part I really liked were the combats (I hadn't seen something like that in a while). It was like meh, why trade goods when you can THROW CANNONBALLS AT SHIPS! It was cool nonetheless.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22am

Fun game! I needed a map! Loved the combat of having to rotate around the enmy as I passed them. Was looking for another port for like 5 minutes, but thats ok becuase I was having fun killing ships while looking for another port.

GJ!

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

I thought this game was pretty awesome! I managed to go to all 4 corners of the map :P

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28am

A recharge indicator for cannon would be nice (did I miss it?). Lovely island graphics.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39am

Pirate game aren't that common.
Fun with something else than space...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Love pirate-games! The look of the islands is great

zapaman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Islands looking really well! Also, Arrrrrr, that ship be plundering all in it's way! Awast ya swabs and give this man some ratings!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:04pm

So much fun.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I liked it, but I struggled a little finding the ports, might have benefited from the minimap?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]