Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Between

by Majko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first entry in Ludum Dare - Between

Network provider simulation

Run your own networking company and create the most effective and stable network between two planets.

Your goal is simple: Don't lose your company and build large effective network.

### QUICK GUIDE, HOW TO PLAY: http://i.imgur.com/hX8en3C.png

---

I know, it's not finished. Needs more balance, bugfixing, some buttons doesn't work. Well, 48h just wasn't enough. Maybe next time it will be better. Looking forward to next LD!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#35Graphics4.29
#58Overall3.86
#71Theme3.96
#103Humor3.33
#115Audio3.57
#138Mood3.57
#171Innovation3.71
#223Fun3.48

Comments

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26am

Great idea and a lot of fun, would love a post compo. Also, FIRST!!!

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

OMG CALM DOWN, Ill skip it! Humor rating adjusted.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21am

This game is awesome and deserves more attention. Great premise with beautiful visualization! I love all the detail going on in the background. Also WTF SPACE PIRATES!?

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

This is the best game I've played so far. Very nice. Love OMG CALM DOWN is the best ;) Great Job

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17am

Thank you! I really appreciate it :)

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20am

Visually it's very beautiful, but there seems to be a lot of bugs. Like in the beginning, I can't change 'Company Name', so if I try to write something then there will be an error saying its too long and the only way to start fresh is to refresh the window.
Anyway, I managed to somehow skip it by just pressing enter instead of inserting a name. About the game itself, I feel it's quite difficult to understand what I'm supposed to do, but visually it's the most beautiful game I've tried so far.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37am

Good Work , I like it's simplicity in design and the polishing nicely done

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

DAT INTRO :P !
The problem was that there was no tutorial, so failing at first seemed kinda unfair, and didn't inspire me to play
again...
The graphics - abolutely gorgeous!
You sure know how to use unity :)
Great entry :)

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49am

Yeah, I haven't enough time to make tutorial. I know about this issue, it's very confusing. I made a quick guide at least, but I think it's not enough.

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:08pm

beautiful looking game that kept me hooked for quite a while. the scaling of costs mat be a bit off

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

That's an incredibly polished UI you've got there. I'd have liked a faster time setting though - I was spending a lot of time just waiting for money to come in. But a surprisingly gripping game!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Excellent game, I love the graphics (even if sometimes it's a bit difficult to use the interface), it really looks clean.

Also, I really can't run a company, haha.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I love the music, it is great for the mood of the game. GJ

GLanna98 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44am

finish the game and try selling it

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Quite a big game with a lot of little details! I was about to quit because of text taking so long and then "OMG CALM DOWN, I'll skip it!". Great Job!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Cool concept, very ambitious of you for an LD! And yeah the skip it part was pretty funny :D It WAS slow though ;)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Oh and also, responded to you on my page !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Very beautiful game. Many details, everything is well made and the challenge seems right. But after 35 month i started to be a little bored since i only had to wait and buy the more expensive things without any need to custom prices or lines. Very good for a LD though ! Even more for a FIRST LD.
I still don't know what you didn't get about my game though. :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:40am

Concept is extremely original. GUI is very well designed. Strong entry.

P.S. Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare ^^

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:46am

omg calm down. this game has some awesome humor and some awesome UI. I love it

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Waw. What a UI ! Clear, pure, balanced. Great. Interesting concept. I put it on my "comeback for more" list.

Shide says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Cool design, great idea, but it's pretty boring to play. Audio is good too, but gets intrusive later on

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Nice game, congrats!

Simon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:54am

Very pragmatic use of the theme ;). But very pleasing to play, great music and UI. Good job!

Goutye says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

I spent at least 45minutes to end this game and I love it !
Month 100 o/ Great great game !

Majko says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Wow, thanks all!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:49am

Haha, "CALM DOWN" is the best! Nice clicker btw! UI stunning!

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I like the clean and modern look, although the web version looked a bit blurry sometimes. Probably a Unity problem. The game itself was more or less trial and error. Many of the icons where not self-explanatory and had no tooltips. I didn't seem to make any kind of progress besides increasing the capacity of my links, so I stopped playing after a while.
But I see a lot of potential in the game. Good work!

kidando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

You have my respect for putting this up in less than 48 hours. I think you could make a serious game out of this concept. But OMG CALM DOWN... and congrats on putting it together :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

It was a really slow start and kinda wish it was more than just buying something and waiting for numbers to go up.

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:44pm

It was a very good game. I really liked it. Interface is beautiful.

Split82 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Very very nice game :)

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Great artstyle

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]