Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mirror Worlds

by malf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two heroes trying to get to the exit...though ...they live in Mirror Worlds ,condemned to make the same actions and unable to pass to the other side.. unless you take advantage of the asymetries.
LEFT/RIGHT to move
UP to jump
SPACE to shoot..if you have bullets

UPDATE 27/8:
Fixed a pair of bugs , I think the rules allow for it because I have not changed the gameplay,:
* one of the sounds got stuck in a loop
* you were able to jump indefinitely
* two levels were not symetric by one block

If this breaks the rules I'll change it back

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#316Humor2.76
#376Fun3.25
#524Innovation3.19
#575Overall3.19
#578Theme3.23
#849Mood2.65
#853Audio2.10
#1020Graphics2.31

Comments

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:06pm

As an ex flash dev, i m very happy to see this kind of entry ! The game is fun and intuitive, well done ! :D

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Very good :) nothing to say.

Inudenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:08pm

My favorite one so far!

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I like the idea. A little too slick and fast for me though.

Very hard, but I powered through all the levels.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Nice! It's challenging, but not unfair. Moving for the first time surprised the hell out of me ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

This game made my brain hurt, but in a good way :o

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Interesting one. I like the puzzle concept of each level. Good job!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Really nice game.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Very difficult game, nice entry.

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Nice job! It's very hard, and it made me have to think! :)

juakob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19am

I really like the idea, I think it has potential. I think you should work on the levels, I got stuck on level 3 and I have no idea how to pass that level.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39am

Very cute

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:46am

Haaard! but great fun!!!

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47am

I liked this very much. Simple concept, but strong level design makes it interesting. When you get to level 3 the game starts to show its potential :)
Having to click 'retry' is bit of annoyance since the game is otherwise played from keyboard.

Nice!

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47am

OMG hard. Really nice idea though! Graphics were cute too.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Good level design! Nice entry!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Nice idea but the slippery controls make it a bit frustrating. For instance in level 5 you die an awful lot just by going off the edge of the screen. I think maybe if instead of dying you appeared at the other side, like in a wrapped world, it would make room for some interesting puzzles.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

interesting concept, had to think a bit in lvlv3, since i killed all the enemies first

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20pm

nice challenges

Saphyre1306 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:22pm

I had a good moment playing your game ^_^

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:48pm

great game. all about the level design. Excellent stuff

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Thanks for all the feedback :D

I know that it lacks more levels and some adjustments to the controls but i didn't have more time! (I could only program the sunday)

Also I've discovered (better:my son has discovered ;D) a pair of bugs that I introduced in the last rush, I'll reupload the game as I think the rules allow for it.

Thanks again!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Assets.hx:547: [openfl.Assets]There is no String asset with an ID of "data/level11.oel" has to be the best victory message so far!

I got trough some of the later levels using some very questionable tactics, but I managed to clear it. Having to navigate the menus and click the buttons with the mouse is a little annoying like gnx already mentioned. I also thing it would be more intuitive if the controls were from the perspective of the green guy (first thing I did was rush of the map :D).

Anssi@MooseflyGames

jpmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Cool game, one of the most fun I've played so far, well done!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Level design was good! The sounds were a bit annoying some times. :p I like the character icons, they're cute! Good work!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

Fun!

JoJoyX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Very nice and clever game, many people does mirror things but yours is original.

suppi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:38pm

great concept and level design! took me a while to understand what was going on. the sound that play when only one player goes through the exit is extremely annoying. must be hard to be in a world without a friend :P

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54am

A bit slidey, but pretty neat!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:53am

I really liked this game! The graphics were nice, clean and old school, and the levels were pretty clever and just puzzly enough. Really excellent work! : )

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:39am

Interesting mechanic - the fact that they bounce off each other added a lot more challenge than I thought. Nice work!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Very nice! It was challenging in a really good way and a great take on the theme :D My one criticism would be to have a key to advance to the next level instead of needing to switch back and forth between the mouse and keyboard.

malf says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:14pm

The bounce off each other was added to hide the fact that the physics are not perfect XD.

And the mouse/keyboard switch problem is one of those things that you don't see an easy solution when you are rushing to finish at least 10 levels (I was thinking of 25 and a lot of "artifacts")

I'll try to make an after-compo version this week with all those things

Thanks for playing and commenting :D

arttut02 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Yeah. Had to think... and think... and think. Good job!

Shmarah says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Wow, really challenging and addictive!

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Hard game, good game ! ;)

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Cool idea, but I don't find the controls really comfortable. Plus it lacks music :(

Tifu says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Good concept. Maybe I'm dim, but some of the levels don't seem to be asymetrical, so I have no idea how to get past my mirror self =/
Other people have though, so... I'm missing something I think...

Knowledge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Cool game, but it have more irregular parts.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Fun concept and gets difficult quickly. For some reason my brain always wanted the controls to map directly to the green guy. Perhaps because he starts on the left? Once I got past that this was really enjoyable. Good work! :)

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:38am

@Tifu . In which level did you get stuck? Sometimes the asymetry is in the number of bullets or in the enemies ;D

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:35am

Diiieeed! A lot. Couldn't get past level 5. But the mechanics were great and the game fun. Good job!

nonetheless says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Fun entry based on really great idea that actually works well. And the sounds are neat :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:33am

You made me think too much. Great job!

sputnik says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Nice but hard game!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:48am

Tricky game, I liked the concept. Good job!

DavidErosa says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:24am

Really nice concept and fun! Buen trabajo!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]