Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Pixels

by Banderi - Jam Entry

=== WARNING ===
This game needs '.' to be set as a decimal separator in the Operating System settings.
If you don't want to change the system settings for this, you can try out the non-jam, upgraded version of the game (links above) in which you can change this ingame.
==============

First Ludum Dare entry for our small team! Unfortunately for us, the game isn't quite finished. Too bad, it's off to a good start already, and we had lots of fun making it!

Done in:
GameMaker Studio

Gameplay:
2.5D action-RPG platformer

Completed:
20% of what initially expected - 1 and a half levels done out of 6

Credits:
Virgil "ReapersTruth" Bellini - 3D assets
Federico "Banderi" Barlotti - programming
Veronica Roberto Yi Hua - 2D assets
Jacopo Lo Conte - 2D assets
Piero "Kay" Ferrari - 2D assets
Simone Sieli - 3D assets
Andrea Tedoldi - Sounds (absent in this version)

EDIT: We had to fix an "unbeatable" kind of error. Thus, we updated the file on DropBox after the deadline. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Graphics(Jam)4.31
#249Fun(Jam)3.27
#320Overall(Jam)3.31
#330Innovation(Jam)3.13
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Graphics is very well done! Pretty sad you didn't managed to bring all the levels to life.

P.S. The girl's portrait is extremely beautiful <3

donfabio says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Beautiful art assets. Really like the blend of pixel art and low poly 3D. Could turn into a nice RPG. Sadly I encountered collision bugs and fell trough the level. Not sure if I've seen everything. I think the text box of the crystel thing was empty.

Follett says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Its a shame the game isn't more polished because the art style is awesome.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34pm

No graphics load as I start the game, basically I run around in nothingness with the main character.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34pm

I really like the level art and the character animations. Combat was a bit of a pain, though - because the movement was very slidey, it was possible to be in a position where I couldn't hit an enemy, but if I moved forward I would run into it. I'd love to see what it looks like finished.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:37pm

I hope you guys get to work on this more and finish it up. It's a great start - love the art style specifically.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I really like the style! Too bad you were not able to finish in time =(

Are you planning to complete your game? I hope you do =)
Btw.: Have you been inspired by Dark Souls?

Banderi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:45pm

@Windmill Games you have to set '.' (dot) as a decimal separator in Windows international and language settings, or either download the 0.1p version which has the settings menu (second link above)

Banderi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:46pm

@Team Klappermann
Absolutely! we're working on it right now. And yes, we love Dark Souls ;)

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nice visuals, I just wish there was more to do.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Nice work! Keep it up!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

gorgeous imagery, the art style reminded me of an old game kings field for some reason.
I'd like to see more!

insane66 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:01pm

*clap clap*

radmars says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:32am

Graphically this is awesome, I'd love to see this fleshed out more. Nice work.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Great art style

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]