Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galeas

by magmaCrab - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi there! Galeas is adventure/trading game where you are a connection between the old world and an uncharted archipelago.

You control a ship send by the king to trade with the local villages for spices and tea. But beware,the enemy has set up some defense to shoot down your ship. The ship has a limited supply of food and should return before the crew starves or the ship breaks.

The control are quite easy: WASD or arrow keys to move, E to trade and SPACE to shoot your cannons. There is a better guide in the game. The game also supports fullscreen and borderless windowed.

If you find any problems with the game or have a remark, please leave a comment.

thanks for playing!

edit: added arrow key support!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#88Graphics4.03
#209Mood3.43
#334Fun3.30
#372Overall3.39
#452Audio2.85
#489Humor2.43
#559Innovation3.15
#798Theme2.88

Comments

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47am

Wow! Really polished. Love the graphics!

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47am

The game looks really nice, but I couldn't really play much because the direction controls are WASD only, which makes it very hard to use on a non-qwerty keyboard. Adding the arrow keys as a 2nd option would have helped in this regard !

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50am

nice game, but the towers are overpower.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50am

Hi, it doesn't work on my computer, it says it is not compatible with my version of windows ( I have windows 7 32bit ). Bye !

shasharala says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01am

Those towers are packing some form of new technology! They are tough!
Regardless, I found the graphics very pleasing and smooth.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

The graphics and animations are really well done.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04pm

64-bit only

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Heya, I liked the concept and the visuals are crisp and very stylish. I enjoyed moving around but I didn't do very well. I tried to kill the shooting towers but they shot me too fast and the reach of my cannons made it so that I needed to get really close to kill them, while they shot very far.

Overall I think this could be a gem if the fighting gameplay elements are tightened up a bit.

Wonderful entry otherwise! Good luck :)

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Hey guys, thanks for all the feedback and kind words. I made the towers the way they are because you don't really benefit from killing them, aside from the small gold bonus. You only need to kill a few to be able to trade.

Maybe I playtested the game so much I became quite good at avoiding the arrows :)

I will upload a 32 bit version as fast as possible.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Great gameplay, graphics, and sound with NES flavour. I really wanted my ship/player to succeed and to complete the game.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Awesome fun, loved the way the cannons worked especially. Nice graphics on a great idea. Good work

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Great entry: very polished, fun and interesting.

I would avoid a bit of the "pixel-hunting" for the cannon balls when you want to hit the towers (or make the towers wider), because it seems a little too difficult and a bit random to hit them.

Other than that, great job indeed!

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:37pm

That's one difficult game. I love the graphics and it's very enjoyable overall.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

I have no idea how to run this :( Do I need to install a love interpreter or VM or something?

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

Yes, there was a problem with the 32 bit version. If you want to play it, just download it again and run the .exe. Thanks for noticing!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

I enjoyed playing this. Once I got used to the controls and how the towers fight, it felt pretty good and the world looks beautiful.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:30am

This was a really nice game. Very polished. Hard to shoot the enemy. Want to play more. Nice job.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Great sprite art, all really neat. I never did find out how to destroy the people firing at you, even with my canons.

Hempuli says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Really tough! The controlling system was really cool and innovative and I really enjoyed playing this, although at times it felt like my whole barrage of shots couldn't reach the towers even when I was as close to it as possible.

frosty says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:26am

Really polished entry overall, with excellent pixel art. It's a nice minimal take on the sea-faring trading genre. =)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:33am

It's cool, once I figured it out. I don't know why I can shoot, since shooting doesn't seem to affect the enemies. It's also confusing why when you go up to a trading hut, it starts out grayed out but then you can trade with it... clicking on it seems to do something, but I don't know why. Sometimes when I try to trade, it won't let me. Nice polish, otherwise.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]