Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WIFI OR DIE

by fil00dl - Jam Entry

WIFI OR DIE - a game developed by Philou from We Dare Create

Objective :
You'll stay alive so long as you have a WiFi connection as you move between the planets.
The closer you get, the more points (and WiFi) you'll gain.

Controls :
- Move left and right to avoid crashing into the planets.
- Activate the wifi on the white planets by hovering your mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#287Innovation(Jam)3.20
#307Humor(Jam)2.58
#312Fun(Jam)3.15
#372Theme(Jam)3.18
#421Mood(Jam)3.02
#469Overall(Jam)3.10
#540Graphics(Jam)2.96
#550Audio(Jam)2.47

Comments

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39am

I liked it, quite nice to have wifi

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32pm

score 42.

the beeping sound got annoying though. wifi is worth it :D

shatterhand says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice game, Made 56 points at my best game.

Donar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51pm

The control with the arrow keys instead of A and D is in combination with the mouse a bit annoying. Nice little game though.

Altourus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very unique concept I liked it :)

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:05pm

It would have been better to have instruction in game, but once I understood the rules I really like it. Very fun and unique. Some more hazards would be nice. :p Also I like what you did with the "connected" theme.

Budaniel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Not a fan of the jumpy movement, personally.

pinion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Simple, clean idea. Good job.

Decept404 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Great fun! Having to track a planet with the mouse while stepping the satellite is a nice and weird challenge :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Really nice clean visual style

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Awesome!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

Found it very difficult, but great execution on the concept.

Floko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09am

The sound is a bit annoying, but it's pretty solid gameplay :)

I didn't read,so it took me a while to realize I could get better wi-fi by staying close to the planets,but eventually I did, haha xD

Pretty nice job,keep it up!

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Would like the option of A+D instead of the arrow keys since I have to use a mouse too. Other than that good job.

lasecun says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Hi, congratss for your game, it's true that the beeping sound got annoying.

And i like the idea.

Good Job

fil00dl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Thank you very much for your feedback, I added A + D controls (and Q + D for French players).
I’ll try and fix the annoying sound but I’ll need more time to find something suitable ;)

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Accurate depiction of life :3

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11pm

After about two seconds the satellite disappears and all I see are stars.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11pm

After about two seconds the satellite disappears and all I see is stars.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:14pm

nice concept, very challenging

fil00dl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26pm

@coffeemuggames : i think that you may just be too far away from the white planets to receive WiFi

rjhelms says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Fun little scroller, and a good challenge.

It wasn't obvious to me at first that I had a meter counting how much WiFi I had left, so the first time I died it was confusing - figured it out pretty fast after that, though.

fizzd says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Found this surprisingly fun! Managed 124, I really liked the risk-reward mechanic of trying to get close but not collide the planet. Very satisfying when you hear the super frequent beeps. :)

shatterhand says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

When I was playing this, my Internet Connection went down, and since this was already open, I kept playing it for a while.

Managed to score 196, I even took a screenshot of it, hehe.

Very cool game, liked it a lot!

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I like it! that was fun, well done.

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:32pm

I like this entry ! good control responsive, good UI reponse. Score 49 !

Artamus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:49am

Nice game, congrats!

Trilby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I could only get 10. :(

A solid game overall.

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:16am

Heh, this is one way of "Connecting worlds" I didn't think of. Nice job :)

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Nice game!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:37am

Great little game! You should add instructions on the Wifi meter part cause I had a hard time figuring why I was sying without any obvious reason.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]