Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ULTRA DEATHSTORM

by Simplexcity - Jam Entry

ULTRA DEATHSTORM (alpha)

In the year 2050, the Earth is ravaged by war and pollution.
A single ship attempts to escape the planet using experimental portal technology...
Something goes horribly wrong and a gateway to hell is opened, shaowspawn devour the crew.
Alone on the bridge, Knight Captain Laurence emerges to meet his death... and revenge.


Play as the lone survivor Knight Captain Laurence,
and do battle with the spawn of hell as you press forward to close the portal connecting worlds.

Arrows - Movement
Z - Attack
Space - Jump
Enter - Confirm

Notes: Health and stamina are displayed bottom left, there are pickups for both health and stamina.
Pro-tip 1: Move away from enemies after attacking and watch your stamina

Current Features:
- Hack and slash combat
- Health and Stamina system
- Some enemies
- Some music

Additional DLC features coming soon (preorder today)
- Special Attacks and Pickups
- Evade
- Jolly Co-op (you were not the only survivor, the 2nd mate is here too!)
- Character progression
- More stages and boss battles (unfortunatly for Laurence)
- Epic soundtrack
- More Death!

Please note, game requires WINDOWS (Web/Windows version are the same ULTRA_DEATHSTORM.exe).
Made in GameMaker Studio for LudumDare30 Team Jam 2014

Team:
- Hemi Ormsby
- Thomas Bredin-Grey
- Matt Grey
- Mike Blanchett

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Graphics(Jam)4.67
#76Fun(Jam)3.65
#118Mood(Jam)3.67
#126Overall(Jam)3.63
#144Audio(Jam)3.58
#197Humor(Jam)2.93
#393Theme(Jam)3.15
#562Innovation(Jam)2.72
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Jaloko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45am

Love the pixel art.

Follett says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

Great fun game. I am not normally a fan of games with a gray palette but it looked really nice. How much is the DLC?

Kuupu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51am

I LOVED IT!
All art was very well done! Congratulations to the artists / animator.
We try to make pixelart too, but not at the level that you did! haha

Kaol

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06am

I enjoyed this one so much! Thanks based pixel gods.

kidando says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

This game is visually impressive. Mad respect for putting it together in such a short time. I hope it continues to grow into a larger game. Great job!!!!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59pm

First things first: If you provide a web link, the game should be playable in the browser and it should not just lead to a download. Second: Chrome marks the exe as malware (and Windows Smartscreen is also complaining). Third: Please provide alternative controls for different keyboard layouts. It's always awkward to play a game that uses the Z key with a qwertz layout.
Apart from that, the game is really awesome. I love the graphics style, the gameplay is fast and the music gets my blood pumpin'. Great entry overall.

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Everyone thanks for the love!

Erkberg, thanks for the helpful feedback.
completely overlooked people with different keyboard layouts so its something to defiantly remember. Also, wed love to get a web build up, ill look into it after work because its a bit of a hassle to download the game, especially when its marked as malware, i guess its because its an unknown exe. Anyways, i want to fix the first 2 things as soon as i get some freetime.

Cheers!!

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Wow! that menu screen is hella awesome, guys! As a matter of fact, the artwork throughout the whole thing looks damn good.
I wasn't expecting the player to be that small though, the background seems very large in comparison. Only thing I miss is some sort of indication for when I'm loosing health. Anyways, great work on the entry. It's a memorable one!

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:41am

Yeah too right rawbosaurx.
There is just blood at the moment, but if there was more time it would have been cool to have him flash white, or have healthbars or damage numbers u could show or hide.

btw, if anyones having mega trouble just press the 'home' key a bunch of times ;)

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:52am

The pixel art was good but i didn't really like the controls

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:18am

Just zipped the game up so hopefully it should be better to download, also removed the un-needed weblink... for now

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:28am

This was insane. Amazing graphics work!
~funkeh

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42am

awesome art design, loved it!

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Incredibly beautiful pixels !!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Nice gameplay and the graphics are wow! congrats!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Love the story/pixel art/music! :D Everything is really old school, just as I like ^^

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Ultra Deathstorm is about as awesome as a title can get! :)

Really cool nostalgic feel to this - story, art, sound, the lot. Plus it was a heap of fun to play. Good work!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

How much does the pre order cost? Where is your shop site? Seriosly... WHERE?!
Haaha just kidding :D Nice game... would it be sold on steam I would pay some bucks for it. Funny game

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:06pm

This game is really awesome! Graphics without a doubt is five! Music is really catchy, 5, overall (?) :3 Guess!

mcapraro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:22pm

really great graphics here!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:03pm

That's one great game! Very tough gameplay but amazing art style. Nice work!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:20am

This game is very impressive. Great polish and superb pixel art. One issue: the SFX clicks for me if a few of the tall guys die at once. I could see this as a base for a full game. Great job!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Great mood.

radmars says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:17am

Man the vibe in this game is amazing (incredible graphics & sound) but this desperately needs some sort of feedback when you get hit, it's super difficult to not have that. Otherwise this is really great, nice work.

Simplexcity says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Thanks again for all the kind comments!
Happy final few hours of voting

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]