Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Building Bridges!

by JetL33t - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Building Bridges! It's done. 30 hours of work.


Lunar Lander Game meets Egg And Spoon Race featuring Unreal Enine 4. Best description I can come up with.

It only features 3 small levels, but considering the diffulty, it might take you a while to do it :)


To start the game, start BuildingBridges/BuildingBridges/Win32/BuildingBridges-Win32-Shipping.exe

Controls

Action Keyboard GamePad
Thrust - W - RT
Turn - A/D - LeftStick
Toggle Beam - Space - A
Zoom - Shift - Y
Reset - R - Back

(You can check/change controls in Config/DefaultInput.ini)



Timelapse:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNnuhAvy0yk



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#14Graphics4.45
#263Overall3.51
#282Audio3.19
#340Mood3.25
#486Fun3.12
#573Humor2.29
#588Innovation3.12
#674Theme3.10

Comments

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08am

Very nice!It was a lille laggy when i played it but it's probably cause of my laptop ruunig past 48h. Floating islands look very nice. UFO steering is pretty hard :D ++

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09am

it looks really cool, but it's too laggy for me to play...:(
Might just be my computer though.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Didn't work for me - got an error that MSVCP120.dll is missing from my computer.

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

10/10. This game looks amazing and feels amazing.

eastes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30am

Best I've played so far. My gf said you and I would make good friends since we have similar things in our games.

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47am

Great gfx + music, good implementation of lunar lander!

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Ok surrend UFO control is to hard x)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Spent 10 minutes trying to make it across the first orange block and pick up... Something? Don't know what I was supposed to grab, or if the tractor beam is a toggle or you have to hold it. The rotation is so sluggish the damn thing is always out of control, too.

No rating, gave up.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Hey guys, thanks for the comments. Regarding the performance on notebooks. I don't really know. My Notebook and desktop PC aren'ts so far appart, but I can't fix the performance on the book. Must be an unsupported shader or something.
I will look into this.

Regarding the controls. It basically steers like a helicopter. It always "boosts" upwards. But It was designed for gamepad. I uploaded a new versions that makes hovering a lot easier (especially with keyboard) - Windows _tweaked.

The beam can only be used above the ground, it will disable itself on landing. So make sure to toggle it if you are far enough off the ground.

Akz- says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Wow, the graphics look absolutely fantastic! The UFO is really hard to control, though :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice Idea. Hard to control, but fun to play. Very, very cool game

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Very impressive art, Unreal Engine 4 rocks!

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Graphics 5/5 but, instruction wasn't clear enough, now my UFO have gone to Kerbal Space Program.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

@hate-marina: haha :P I love Kerbal Space Program.

Anyways, I didn't have time to finish the ingame tutorial + my photoshop died in the midsts of the weekend (still not working)

Regarding the hard to control UFO, yes, it is kinda adviced to practice hovering and landing before you go to work.
I made it hard, so the flying mechanics were fun, once you learned how to manage not to crash. Crashing is part of the fun tough, thats why I spent a lot of time on the explosion :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Wow, this is much more difficult than it looks. :D Amazing visuals though.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Amazing graphics. But the gameplay is really unforgiving and frustrating and the game would be a lot more fun if it was easier to controll and to pick up stuff.
I'm not suprised some people mentioning lag because UE4 is pretty demaning.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Amazing graphics, interesting gameplay but maybe a bit too hard to control with keyboard ;)

One of the best games i played so far.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Really nice graphics, and interesting gameplay. Great!

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

For all UE4 games if you are getting error for msvcr120.dll missing, install Visual Studio Redistributable x86 from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I couldn't run this entry.
Windows version says it needs msvcp120.dll and tweaked needs msvcr120.dll :(

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05pm

@handkor
Thanks! I added this as a link!

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Not sure if its rational to use UE4. It takes a lot of tweak and skill to make it just right not to lag...
Are the connected worlds the islands?

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:39am

I loved the look of this game, but it was so difficult to play!

mess110 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:39pm

brilliant

JetL33t says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Hey, I put in some effort to make the UFO a lot more controllable and I hope I succeeded this time. Downlaod Windows Tweaked Controls V2 to test it.

What is new:
Curve driven input for keyboard (which simulates analog input, the longer you press a button, the higher the input value becomes, which gives you a lot higher precision if you tap the keys)
I also programmed a flight computer which helps you to stabalize the UFO, it automatically pulls itself straight, so flipping out of control should be A LOT harder.
It also assists you in hovering, once you hover, you should pretty much be stable and can concentrate on doing your job instead of trying not to crash :P

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Yeah, besides the game being laggy and so, the graphic looks really cool though :D Oh right, hooray for Unreal Engine 4!

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice low poly graphics and burn effect. The tractor beam is a bit useless how it flings your cargo around, wouldn't use it to move house with lol.

DarkUser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I tried the tweaked controls, it's so hard to control it cracked me up. I barely made it over the bridge. I like the visuals.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:48pm

I only tried the "Tweaked Controls" version and failed hard. :/

AtsK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Indeed really hard and indeed a very cool low-fi look :)

StrideWide says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Nice game with simple mechanics and impressive graphics.

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:14pm

this is a super beautiful game you have created!
I'm very impressed by the visuals, tight gameplay and the entire package!
Smart idea to have the control tutorials part of the world

Great work!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Controls are pretty unresponsive

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]