Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sunblaztor

by bladderbloat - Jam Entry

This is what I came up with on the afternoon, my first solo game ever! The theme is vaguely there, I just really wanted to make something in space exploding with music.

Your mission is to protect our wonderful sun.

Left mouse - Shoot like crazy

W - Move forward

S - Move back


Also, be sure to collect the power ups because then you will cause alot more explosions.

Hope you have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#32Fun(Jam)3.91
#125Audio(Jam)3.63
#183Overall(Jam)3.51
#244Humor(Jam)2.76
#431Graphics(Jam)3.27
#445Mood(Jam)2.97
#651Theme(Jam)2.33
#676Innovation(Jam)2.35

Comments

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37am

Fun and nicely polished! :D

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

Not so innovative concept, but the game is well playable and highly polished.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39am

It's a good game, good job.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

Haha very funy and cool game. Loved the end. :)

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48am

This plays very well! Definitely went a couple rounds at it. Great job!

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49am

Glad it works! The html version lags like crazy for myself, I have no idea why.. must be all the physics?

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

That was a lot of fun and it looked great.
Congratulations on your first solo game!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55am

I really love defense games.. And asteroid games so.. This is really enjoyable for me :D

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

The huge iron asteroid was destroyed and mankind celebrated. So did i :)

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

Nice graphics, not an original gameplay but it do the job! Nice work.

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46am

Very fun game! Congrats on the first solo game!

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

nice entry! very fun!

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Nice effects!

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47pm

I liked it! Felt it was a bit easy towards the start and much easier once I worked out I could hold the mouse down. Pretty well polished. I liked the story bit at the start a greater variety of asteroid colours might have been nice but I feel that might have detracted from the "iron asteroid" idea. I like the music and the sound. Controls felt a bit stiff but I guess that ship is bloody massive so it makes up for it ;D. Good game overall! Nice one.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Solid game, a little bit of screen shake would have gone a long way to making the explosions and the shots feel meatier

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22pm

HTML version was really slow for me, but I enjoyed it - really awesome music!

mrgame64 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36pm

I loved the ambiance ;)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Fantastic music! Adds to a good mood. The ship does move slightly slow, however.

vinull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:41pm

I actually played a few levels before I realized I could move and then is was like a whole other game =) Really cool take on a simple shooter.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:24am

The game was very fun, i find the ship very slow but it is not a problem, great work :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]