Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lang

by erdnuss - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry! I don't know whether it'll be fun to play, because I didn't really have time to thoroughly flesh out the concept. The game runs with Python and uses pyglet (which is included with the source). I also made a Windows .exe with pyInstaller (contrary to the name, you do not have to install anything. Just run the executable). Graphics were made with Inkscape, and sounds with sfxr.

Running the game:
Linux/Mac (the required python2 interpreter comes with many Linux distributions out of the box, Mac users will have to install it from http://python.org/): Download/clone the files from github and run main.py with the python interpreter.
Windows: Download the executable and run it.

Use the mouse to play (drag and drop!). Press escape to close the game whenever you want (No saves :D).

Theme:
When two worlds are connected, information needs to be exchanged in a common language. In most cases, such a common language does not exist and needs to be established first. Just now, a small computation module has arrived from another world. It allows you to combine several alien symbols and observe the result to help you find out what they mean.

Bugs:
There is a bug in the lambda calculus interpreter that the game uses to evaluate expressions. It makes the [second character from the right] behave weirdly. Maybe I could fix that and then put in an extra link to the fixed version (because the compo is now over)? Until then, well, er, you know, could you just ignore that character?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#519Humor2.38
#598Innovation3.11
#912Audio1.86
#942Theme2.61
#974Mood2.44
#1116Fun2.17
#1123Overall2.47
#1126Graphics2.08

Comments

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09pm

love the concept. a bit more help would be nice though (ux wise)

Norgg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

I like the idea and the feel of whatever is going on here, but without any way to interpret the meaning of the input or the output it just feels like I'm just randomly placing the items in the boxes. I was starting to see some connections between the two, but I didn't know what those connections meant either. I do enjoy the mystery of it though, just need a tiny bit more to go on or aim at.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31pm

i couldn't really understand the correlation between the boxes and the character i put in them, but i like the idea

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

I did not get what I have to do in this game.

erdnuss says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Thanks everyone for the nice and helpful feedback. @mess110, @Norgg: I was afraid that that would happen, but did not have enough time or concentration to think more carefully about that. I suppose I was also deep in the project to realize that what seemed obvious to me was in no way obvious to anyone else. But it's good to see that you liked the idea, so I'll put some more work into it and make a post-compo version (that might take some time though). Thanks!

erdnuss says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

@datacr4sh, @elkiwydev: The boxes are actually just empty fields for the symbols. The game is about the combinations of symbols. I will make a (hopefully) better and more clear post-compo version of the game!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Nice job for the first LudumDare. I didn't even finish my first one.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Cool concept!

kyru says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Weird game, might need to be expanded to get more out of it.

kristof says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:21pm

I like the idea of figuring out a language. At least that is what I think the game is about ;) Sadly there is no goal defined, so it is hard to tell if I am on the right track... But still, it is good first ludum dare entry!
For people on newer macs: Before running main.py you have to tell python to prefer 32 bit. There seems to be a bug in piglet. To do so run: "defaults write com.apple.versioner.python Prefer-32-Bit -bool yes" in a terminal window.

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Wasn't quite sure what to do with combining the symbols, but it would be neat if you put together something a little more complete.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I liked the idea of the game, but the goal is still unclear for me. You should give to player a purpose, for example, finding a certain amount of new words to win.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]