Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Different But The Same

by chriskdev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first entry ever for Ludum Dare.

The goal was to create a game, that deals with the currently sustaining middle east conflict and has an easy to understand, yet critical message.

Since the game is interpretable in different ways, I hope nobody gets offended by the displayed religious families.

SAY NO TO RACISM!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#344Humor2.70
#372Mood3.21
#389Graphics3.36
#430Theme3.42
#751Overall3.00
#833Innovation2.79
#868Audio2.00
#1114Fun2.19

Comments

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48am

Pff. Funny idea. More story than a game thou.

Liz England says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49am

Ah, this looks great! But the link is sending me to a webpage that won't respond (overloaded?). I'll come check this again in a couple days.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52am

I like your portrayal of the mundanities of life - its a great way to evoke sympathy for both sides.

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54am

Powerful message. Its short and simple, but the thematic connection of worlds stands out all the more for it I think.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

First point and click adventure game I saw. And this was quite a good one.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Very well done for 48 hours.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:57pm

quite relaxing. Clicking the grapes (left side of table) teleports me to the kitchen, left side though. The theme connection seems a bit weak maybe.

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Really good one. Great idea and execution.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Not much of a game, but an interesting idea. You should definitely not judge someone by race, but rather by actions. I did enjoy the walking animation. Well done.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Great work with a great message.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Art is pretty coold and your take on the theme is, well, kinda noteworthy :P

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I was kind of confused by the mechanics at first. I was much better at finding my pants then plates. Also it felt weird to just walk "left off screen" to end the level.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Great little commentary piece - we are all the same. Found it a bit buggy but nothing game breaking.

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Right message.
And i love adventure games.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Good message.
Nice use of theme, and easy why to play. But would be nice see more gameplay or story.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Beautiful graphics, powerful message.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

The idea behind the game is very deep, and touches people's heart. I never think of the world can be connected in such a manner. Great job!

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Rubber dinghy rapids bro

From Smiling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Great idea and a nice use of the theme! ' u '

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

One of the best stories in LD30

twintrite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Well done :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Nice message

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

This is deep! The animations were LOL :)

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:29am

Quite shocking!

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Page isn't coming up for me so I can't rate. :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]