Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trading Worlds

by PERECil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Trading Worlds, you must connect planets to each others. Connect all trades routes, and planets will diseappear, leaving rooms for others.

Some planets have special bonus (time and score) which, when all trade routes are done, will give you spare time or a score bonus.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#279Theme3.63
#443Fun3.17
#446Overall3.31
#524Graphics3.14
#611Innovation3.09
#838Humor1.90
#908Mood2.56
#968Audio1.60

Comments

Cad says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28am

Interesting idea, however I can see that your interpretation of the theme was extremely literal. This helped you create a game but I feel as though it could have been more creative. Good job overall

Moonkis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29am

Fun puzzler, to bad there wasn't any sound! Great work :)

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

Wow, I'm addicted.

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Nice entry! I like the simple puzzle mechanic :)
I do think the compo counter is broken (it should score towards connected planets, not connected in a row?)
Sometimes The planets you need won't show, which is kinda frustrating. Overall, well done :)

PERECil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20pm

The combo increments each time you finish a series of trade routes, but is reseted each time you can't finish a route. It is a mechanism intended for those who carefully planify their routes and can finish more than one route in a row, and acts as a score multiplier.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Good game. The concept is great, can be maked somthing real cool out of it. A little addictive))

Dabuuker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:09pm

When I was younger I played these pipes games where you connected the pipes so the water could go though. The idea is similar but more creative. Cool game :)

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Great little game! Really fun and surprisingly addictive!

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I love how you spun that theme right around! Well done!

The mechanics work well and, after some initial panicking, I found the controls to be intuitive. Some very basic SFX for picking up and placing planets would make this even more immersive.

And how do people get such high scores? Wow!

All in all: if I were you I'd polish this and put it on an iPad/Android store, see how that works :).

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11am

I wonder how the top player managed to get that score. I'm either terrible or I just didn't understand how to make a lot of points.

PERECil says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:45am

The answer to get a lot of points is to simply make big trade routes with score multiplier in them (orange bonus). The formula is currently: ( 2 ^ ( planets - 1 ) ) * 10 * score multiplier * combo value.

I think the power is a bit too much, and I'll maybe change the formula to ( planets ^ 2 ) instead of ( 2 ^ ( planets - 1 ) ), at the end of judging.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Fun game, though I always seem to end up with 5 of the same planet.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Great job

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Cool little puzzle game.

goffmog says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Sweet! I wish I'd come up with a puzzler approach to the theme instead of trying to rewrite every space and management sim I've ever played :) Really cool gameplay, polish it and sell it!

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Fun idea, tougher than I thought it would be though!
Does anyone else find that there tends to be far more right-connections than anything else?

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:47am

the game was pretty fun, but it could have used something to make sure the pieces it gives you are useful, I found myself stuck with boards full of the same single piece over and over

sportsquid says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Simple, addicting game. Lots of fun!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Pretty cool, I thought you did a good job... the timer makes it pretty rough!

AlexFili says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:43am

Pretty hard game to get your head around, but it plays well and looks quite nice!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]