Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ET Invasion, Random Game

by Anshzinc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made extremely crudely in couple of hours. Not fully functional or bug free. and it lacks sound. I didn't have time to finish it fully. But anyway here's what I have for my first Ludum Dare entry.

It's supposed to be some sort of alien invasion and you're supposed to be the hero to save mother Earth; in your little helicopter.

Use arrow keys to move the heli, and space to fire missiles.

I'm sorry for submitting low quality game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#825Fun2.73
#962Graphics2.44
#1022Mood2.30
#1105Innovation2.24
#1117Overall2.48
#1156Theme1.92

Comments

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01am

Not bad for your first time! Don't be so hard on yourself. The movement was interesting, kinda fun!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:51am

Congratulations for submitting your first game! Why not make a post-compo version? If so, I would increase the movement speed respectively make the speedup faster.

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:51am

Agree with AndyBrown, it's nice to see a side scroller where you don't always have to move to the right.

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56am

Disappointed that I couldn't shoot myself on the wraparound!

Nananas says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08am

Haha the red plane/helicopter* is way too overpowered. Poor aliens ;)

Don't be sorry! Every step is a step forward (figuratively).

(ps: I wish there was more of a real threat, except for crashing into mother Earth for the red plane. It would have made it much more interesting.)

*was it a plane or a heli?

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05am

Gratz on your first Ludum Dare ^^ ( I know that feel :D )

Aside from collision bugs, the thing, that bothered me the most is textfields. They were all different fonts/colors/size. And that pretty hurts my eyes !_! Try to maintain one style next time :)

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29am

@43iscoding haha, yeah, I actually forgot what font I was using initially so in hurry I chose randomly whatever was currently selected. It's pretty messy and ugly but I just wanted to finish making a playable game within time so went ahead without giving its look much thought.

@Nananas Its a helicopter. I initially wanted to make different kinds of aircrafts (Predator drone, F-18 aircraft etc) but I was very late when I started developing so I kept this little helicopter. (It was initially a placeholder thing I drew in few seconds).

Thanks everyone.

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35am

Quite nice for your first entry! The plane movement felt pretty nice, however a real danger or challenge was missing (I'm sure you're aware of that ;) Still, not bad, hoping to see another entry next time!

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Pretty good for only a couple of hours! The flying physics were really well done. Only problem was that holding down or up and reversing direction resulted in pointing the opposite direction, not game-breaking but a little annoying. Very robust for what it is! Not sure how it fits the theme though!

joseadrian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

There are two things I would change about the game are: the enemies (you said it is an alien invasion :P) and let us keep the space bar pressed to shoot. Good game. Other than that... GJ !

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01pm

For only a couple of hours, this isn't bad. Take it for what it is, a learning experience.

After killing quite a few planes, I can say that the controls could use some work, but I think you have the start of a cool game here.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23pm

you get a 5 for innovation. gj

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Well first congratulations that you released the first Ludum Dare game. It definitely is quite good for a first game. I liked the idea.

I liked also the movement although it wasn't the standard movement in shooters, it had potential to be something different and fun.

All in all the game is interesting definitely and looks good too :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Simple and Fun, I liked it. The control scheme worked really well, although I would have liked to be able to aim at more angles. Keep up the good work and congratulations on on your first entry!

kidando says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19am

For a first LD project. It's quite impressive. I think you have a great game here. Hope to see more of it after LD :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Congrats on your first LD :D

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:41am

Hey, the fact that *anyone* makes *anything* in such a short time is impressive. Take it easy!

komjaur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

score 52 :D

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:32am

I found interesting that up and down are tilting our helicopter and influence more the shots' direction than our proper direction, it creates some unusual dynamic.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Don't apologize! I had fun playing it... did you have fun making it?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]