Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spacesuit Of Glue

by hazzahazzam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD! Source is a zipped Unity project. Have Fun!

Tried to make spike hitbox as forgiving as possible.
I spent a lot of time on controls and people seem to enjoy it.

Sound effects: BFXR.net
Music: abundant-music.com
Art: Photoshop
Made in: Unity

The levels are as followed.
Grass (Normal)
Corrupt (Purple)
Heaven (Gold)
??? (Rainbow)

Didn't think I had to say it, but four people so far have tried to play this on mobile. Let me clarify, this is not for mobile.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#184Fun3.54
#473Audio2.82
#494Mood3.06
#540Humor2.35
#543Overall3.22
#615Graphics3.00
#801Innovation2.83
#1014Theme2.44

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

I didn't get the chance to build the entire spaceship, so if there's anything past that, this comment doesn't count for those parts. The game was alright, but there wasn't much variety or will to keep playing. What I DID like was the way the pieces stuck the the player. If you'd designed a mechanic around that, like maybe the player had to rotate a certain way if he had a piece stuck to him and he was going through a small area.

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44am

Really fun! Reminds me of both Commander Keen and the final level of Cave Story.

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

It can't be bad if it's pixel styled :) . Like it, really fun!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46am

It's really fun to play :)
Only the vegetation is unlikely to exist on a planet with almost no gravity and oxygen.
I recommend a bit more graphics polishing.

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50am

Fun to play, but it's kind of an allready seen game. And I dont really get the "Connected Worlds" part :/. Graphics are coherent, and it's not that difficult to play :).

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51am

Simple but adddicting! Bookmark added, i finish this one later :D

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54am

I liked the game. In the secound Level the ways have bin a little to long for my taste but its fun.

neosam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59am

Nice game!

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

Fun put hard past the first level!

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

I think the controls were perfectly tuned for the gameplay. Good job on your first LD!

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15am

Fun little game, didn't finish it though.

WillysJerry says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15am

Fun game, the controls felt really good!

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16am

Haha, this game. I probably spent 30 minutes playing it!! I got to the multicolour level.. and gave up.. :D What was the deal with the golden key that opened nothing in the 3rd level!?

Very cool game. Well done :D

Cruion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48am

Good job on the game. It was quite fun although got more difficult in later levels. Although it would have made it easier, it would have been nice if the parts remained where they were when you died rather then returning to their spawn point.

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Nice game :) , would probably have been a good idea to put some seal on that rocket shaft as I just flew out, expecting something to happen xD

Also, I'm getting the following error in the Unity Project:

Assets/Editor/HierarchySortKeybindings.cs(5,33): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `BaseHierarchySort' could not be found. Are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?

besides that.. great job :)

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Did you make use of Abundant-Music to get your audio? The spikes are a LITTLE too easy to hit, it's like the collision detecting with regards to them isn't close to pixel so odd corners catch.

Also, in regards to my game, I'm going to release a little bug-fix about the speed/movement issues.

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28am

Really enjoyed it. Loved the pixel art and the simple gameplay. Good number of levels too! It would've been nice to be able to pick up multiple parts at the same time.

eastes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33am

I was so proud of myself after clocking the game. Then I realised it was just the first level. Nice game!

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42am

Nice game. That last level is really really nasty.

Too much God in there, but well done.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13am

Fun game, addictive, I have to come back to finish it, bookmarked ;)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice sounds you have there. I don't know if it was planned but you can fly out of level through the rocket shaft. Generally great job :)

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Got the the multi-colored stage and gave up because the colors were starting to get too harsh on my eyes and it was too difficult. The collisions felt a little off, but the controls were accurate and felt clean, which made the game pretty addicting, since you knew most of the time it's your fault if you fail.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:52am

nice job. got to lvl 3. controls are good. Well done

dusho says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:17pm

really cool game.. reminds of some old 8 bit game where you had to collect ship parts like this.. very fun

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Can't rate. Getting a server not found error.

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Has an old school vibe to it. Controlling the spaceman aint bad too. congrats on finishing your game

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:20am

Really fun! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]