Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Control

by Wesley Ding - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ALERT
-----
To make the text load faster, hold shift while clicking the green flag at the top of the page. If you do it correctly, "Turbo Mode" will show next to it and the text will load much faster.
-----

Control is a game in which you try to maintain a balance of health, happiness, and economical success while fighting off menacing intruders in the two, closely related worlds that you rule.

Remember to keep your Save Code in a place where you can find again. A new day occurs every five minutes, and effects take place.

Your ultimate goal is to obtain five unique Death Star parts and rule over the great expanses of the universe.

* To view the source, click "See inside" on the project page.

# TUTORIAL # (Added at the request of commenters)

In Control, every five minutes is a year. You may pass bills that will apply their effects at the end of the in-game year. Every "year," your two worlds' stats get gradually harder to manage, so you must control your stats by passing bills that might improve the stats your citizens are complaining about in your email. (You can view the effects of each bill in the code, but it's supposed to be secret.)

Sometimes, other worlds might declare war on your world. In that case, you should fund the military. At other times, epidemics may start in your two worlds. While there's an epidemic, you might want to increase your public health funding.

Once your nation stats become good and you eliminate debt in both worlds (or get a large surplus), you can buy a Death Star fracture which will take a heavy toll on your world. Note that the more fractures you have, the harder it is to get the next. Once you collect all five unique fractures, you win the game.

You can view what stats you should improve by reading the email, which reflects what your constituents think of your ruling.

By the way, the music is a mix of two tracks that are randomly generated each time you play the game from a library of drum and piano sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Humor2.53
#582Audio2.67
#813Theme2.86
#855Innovation2.77
#1029Overall2.67
#1090Mood2.00
#1098Graphics2.16
#1139Fun2.09
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Hi. I found the slow speed of text printing a bit of a block to playing your game. I suggest you make a new upload with the text printed much faster, or with a button to press to quickly output all remaining text on a page.

Wesley Ding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11am

To make the text load faster, hold shift while clicking the green flag at the top of the page. If you do it correctly, "Turbo Mode" will show next to it and the text will load much faster.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:26pm

This seems very interesting. It goes a bit ddeper than you see at first. Good take on the theme and may I say the music is awesome. If you made that yourself, kudo's! Glad I read about the text fix before I started :) Good ratings from me for sure.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:10am

Nice game :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:54am

Turbo mode helps a lot. I suggest putting that information first in your description as there is just no way to play the game so slowly. There needs to be a button to press for next day or a countdown so you know how long. The day timer could also be a lot faster.

Interesting and complex but the timescale is too long. You might even do away with time entirely and just react immediately based on what the player does.

There might have been a bug after viewing the people and then pressing x because they were still being drawn (I was in turbo mode).

The music may have worked if it was played in the loony bin (if you could get that detailed). It's just a little too chaotic for this type of game. A calmer, or more serious track may work better.

sprawl says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:57am

It's interesting, But I found the game quite slow even with Turbo mode. For exemple, 10 seconds for reading emails is really long.

Otherwise, it looks clean. Good job on the game !

JNyknn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Intersting concept and great music, I could play this only for the strange music!

Bernte says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Interesting concept, nice that you can fasten the text. But I discovered this a bit late...

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Pretty good, the text seemed a little slow to me but the game was quite good!.

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Looks like a complex strageygame, but with all the plain menus it was a little overwhelming. How do I earn money/How much does the funding of programs cost etc... Took me till "It's a new year" pop-up to figure out it's realtime ;)Regarding your music-composition, if you don't know him yet, check out Frank Zappa! Maybe a step-by-step ingame tutorial would have been great!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Nice to see something made in Scratch, haven't seen much of it before! Interesting concept, not sure whether or not it's fun but interesting nonetheless!

doomista says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Won't start either in IE10 or updated Firefox

Wesley Ding says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:09am

@doomista I think it's probably a problem with your computer, as Scratch works on most browsers.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:28am

The concept is very interesting! Excelent work :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]