Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

TAGGLE

by korigame - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-----------------
T - A - G - G - L - E
-----------------

This is my first Ludum Dare Entry: A game called Taggle.

The game is very basic.

Two players, sitting side-by-side, control their own character.

A game of tag. A game of collecting.

One player the Collector, one the Chaser.

The Collector is slow, but has the special ability to toggle its own visiblity.

The Chaser is quick, and it's his/her job to tag the Collector.

When the tag is made, the players switch roles. Make sure you pay attention to your current role!

Only the Collector can obtain 'bits'.

First player to collect 10 'bits' wins.

Controls:

Player 1 (Minotaur):

Movement: Up, down, left, right arrow keys OR Left Joystick of controller 1
Go Invisible: M or L key. X button on PS3/PS4 controller 1. A on Xbox Controller 1 *

Player 2 (Lizard-thing):

Movement: R,F,D,G keys OR Left Joystick of controller 2
Go Invisible: Q or Z key. X button on PS3/PS4 controller 2. A on Xbox Controller 2 *

*: You can only go invisible / reveal yourself, if you are the Collector

I urge you to use controllers if you can (if they work) - and plug your laptop into the tv via HDMI and play on the couch while you're at it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Fun3.87
#61Graphics4.17
#160Humor3.13
#209Mood3.43
#226Overall3.56
#446Innovation3.30
#548Audio2.73
#1107Theme2.17
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

korigame says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59am

Follow the instructions on the itch.io page and you're good to go!

mcapraro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13am

i really loved the graphics and style of this game, really well done! i also really loved how the trees wiggled when you bumped them.

LabOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14am

At the start screen error
There should be 'Taggle_Alpha1_Win_Data'
folder next to the executable

And I dont know there to change resolutions and quality

korigame says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35am

Thanks, I'll fix it now :)

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54am

I love how the trees bend - and blocky clouds are the best clouds ever!

2playergames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Hi Korigame, where can your game be played? If its in flash, html or unity version, and if the game is bugs free and works good, we would be more than happy to publish it <a href="http://www.2pg.com" target="_blank">2pg.com!</a> Thanks.

korigame says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03pm

2playergames: Downloads are at the bottom of the itch.io page, here: http://korigame.itch.io/taggle And yes, the game is made in Unity. My twitter is twitter.com/korigame if you want to send me a direct message :)

mechabit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Fun little game but where's the theme?
Awesome for 48Hrs

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Cool! Really nice, like the art style too. Good job!

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52pm

The tree movement is great. Occasionally the bits would spawn right next to me after I collected a bit, which seems kind of unfair (or just lucky?), so maybe making them always spawn farther away would make things fairer. I had a lot of fun with this.

korigame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03am

Thanks for the kind words so far. Yeah, it would benefit from some fixes and added content etc...I will do that in the near future. Also, I agree the theme was lost a little after the design went through a few iterations - but the idea of going invisible wouldn't have been there without the theme's initial inspiration :)

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20am

Nice game, I really like the graphics (and the interaction with the trees ^^).

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38am

can you make a linux build?

korigame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06am

I can r0x0r! Can you not play it in the browser with the unity plugin?

korigame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:15am

Ok, linux is now available (scroll to the bottom of the itch.io page for downloads) - let me know if it works r0x0r!

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18am

@korigame: thanks! it works fine :), about the browser plugin, sadly, don't exists for linux..

bentog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

This looks very fun, if I find someone to play with me I'll rate it. Added to my bookmarks to remember. It's very cute!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34am

Nice

Tanner says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40am

invisibility + moving trees leads to really exiting gameplay scenes. Art style is very coherent too. Really good for 48h!

bentog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Great game, really fun to play! I would like to see something indicating who's the collector and who is the chaser. Maybe add some features (keep it simple!) and then it will be a blast to play. I would love to see a post-compo of this!

korigame says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Thanks folks!

bentog: Cheers :) There was an indication in an earlier build, but I think the confusion adds a dimension to the game, so I removed it. I really want to do a version that supports up to 4 players, and the confusion in that instance would be really cool - you could hide in plain sight as other players try to figure out who is the collector. Post-compo of this will definitely be a thing!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I like the visual design, the graphics and lighting and modeling and everything. Was a bit of fun to play around with my sister. Not really sure about the connection to the theme, though.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:17am

Beautifully designed, I like the blocky-3d aesthetic! I had fun with this even without two players :D
I appreciate the physics on the trees so much also haha. Thanks for including the source, I was really curious as to your technique on that (as well as the smooth scaling animations).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]