Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Where's the Color?

by tbam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Goal: Get to the end (Hint: There is no end)
Controls: Space to jump. You can jump in the air. It costs energy, which is replenished by the glowing lights

How does this relate to the theme?
It doesn't. I ran out of time :(

First Ludum Dare down... what can I say, I didn't even come close to finishing the darn thing, but I learned a lot and had a blast. Here's to the next compo!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#446Audio2.86
#464Fun3.14
#657Graphics2.95
#832Humor1.92
#899Mood2.57
#927Overall2.81
#1147Innovation2.06
#1198Theme1.42

Comments

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Pretty fun, seems a bit dangerously similar to canabalt...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

This game had decent graphics, physics, and music. However, I'm not sure what the player is or how the glowing lights influence the game. It's a solid first effort. (I can't seem to make that seventh jump...)

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44pm

While the sprites aren't direct copies from canabalt, that is where I drew influence from as a quick building block. You can check the source for more details if you'd like (though please don't, my code is an awful mess :) )

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49pm

@ aGoodPoint: You can jump while in the air. It costs energy, which is what the blue lights give. Sorry for the confusion :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Pretty fun, good effort for your first ever LD. :D

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Pretty cool, simple but I like it. The mid-air jumping consuming energy was a nice touch. Good job.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice work! Could be a fun little runner game with some additions. I like the background buildings. Just curious, what is the player meant to be? Just a ball of energy?

Looking forward to see what you come up with next Ludum Dare!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03am

@nikki: Thanks! I was planning on having the player act as a carrier of color between two worlds (red and blue). It would carry color back and forth, making everything purple if you won. As you can see, I didn't quite get there ;)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51am

The Gameplay is actually pretty damn fun for an unfinished game. Would love to see this with some completed polish. The energy spending is a nice touch to a classic game design.

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

yeah, run n jump but with a failsafe mechanism. makes these games so much more enjoyable, i think. and building the level around the midair jump was cool too. i like it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27pm

This was a really fun and straightforward game. I really liked having the ability to double jump. Thanks for the vote, your feedback was appreciated!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Not bad, I could see this as a good mobile game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Nice start but it feels a bit unfinished, you should keep working on it! :)

barleyarley says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Definitely fun to play, although lacking a bit in originality. The art was cool, and the controls responsive. I did find that the buildings just cut out at one stage though, so I couldn't continue. I assume this wasn't intentional?

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I can totally appreciate your honesty! Nice effort, I'm not a huge fan of runners, but I did play this longer than I planned!

Beard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I really liked the overall experience. Nice control, very reactive.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Nice there-is-no-way-to-win game.

jab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Fun mechanic, but the infinite jump makes it a bit easy.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

the energy-based multi-jump is novel. good background music. nice work.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Nice solid first effort, congratulations. Liked the energy aspect to the jumping but think also adding a little text or something that appears the first time you need to jump in the air would be a good tip for the player and help with the confusion.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

I like the air jumping mechanic.

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Good job for first LD! And since you have the game base done now, you can change the graphics (it's best if it doesn't look like Canabalt :) ) and make it into a full game fairly easy. I really like the trail on the player and the speed feels just right.

leafarz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

pretty fun and i like the audio!
simple runner game but with more jumping mechanics!
a bit easy for jumping but you need to manage the energy used. although i don't quite get the connection to the theme [but you put it in the description which i just read now :))].
and yeah it's alright! treat this as your initial push to developing games and make better ones for the following LDs.
good job! next ld again!

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Solid first entry, the idea of multi-jump as a failsafe is interesting, as is designing around it. I ended up at an endless void, not sure if i lacked enough energy to make it through the whole thing or if i finished the game?

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Cool. Its like a Canabalt game but with multiple jumping. Great work for 48 hours!

Trilby says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Cute jumping sound. Good first try.

rantt says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Fun runner game, the mid air jump was a cool mechanic. I liked the music and graphics too. Nicely done :)

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I enjoyed the twist on the usual endless running game by letting you fix your mistakes at the cost of energy, nice idea. Good work on the sprites and the sounds too!

lakael says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:36am

Nice first game. Love the runner, good music, good controls

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Cool runner. Addictive =)!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]