Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Demi Necro

by GraveyardPolice - Jam Entry

An alternate reality has managed to find passage into this world. These creatures, bound and determined to overthrow this reality, gather the souls of the lost in an attempt to manifest their true forms. A rogue wanderer, armed with a mystical weapon allowing the manipulation of lost souls, may be the world�s only hope. Who is this rogue wanderer? How can they manipulate reality in such a way? No one may know. But some might say, if you play in the realm of lost souls, you may be half-dead anyway.

Controls Keyboard Gamepad(Xbox 360)
Move WASD Left Stick
Shoot Arrows Right Stick
Shift Worlds Spacebar A button

Featuring:

Soul-Stealing-To-Use-for-Ammo Mechanics WOW!
Progressively harder difficulty, the longer you take the stronger they get
Slimes
Slimes with arms
Twin stick style shoot em up
Portal Destruction

Programming - Dustin Sims a.k.a. Pumph0use
Art/Sound - Britt Brady a.k.a. Gloom


*Web player only supports keyboard inputs
*Standalone builds support keyboard and Xbox 360 controllers, provided your system has the required drivers.

*I cannot promise linux builds work, but there is an x86 and x86_64 version, I do not have a linux box to test with unfortunately.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#37Audio(Jam)4.00
#54Graphics(Jam)4.34
#71Mood(Jam)3.83
#137Overall(Jam)3.60
#274Fun(Jam)3.22
#316Innovation(Jam)3.15
#351Theme(Jam)3.23
#514Humor(Jam)2.07

Comments

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:13pm

So neat, it is so good, atmospheric. Love it!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32am

Whoa-oah, this is fantastically moody! I love the look and the audio, and it's quite a challenging game! Super awesome work!

cacciatc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09am

Really neat environment. I like the soul-harvesting-to-get-ammo-for-shooting dynamic.

biscuitWizard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50am

Really liked it! The art is pretty as usual, GP.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

Beautiful graphics, I love how the music really builds an atmosphere!

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

Nice graphics and sounds! Good job. :)

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Great graphics and audio!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Great graphics and music, extremely solid gameplay. Nice of you to include controller support.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Graphics and sounds are nice!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Good stuff...nice sprites and animation!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Seems like toggling between soul-getting and normal forms leaves you kind of vulnerable in the middle of a mob. Maybe an invincibility cool down after dashing and more of an invincibility timer between being able to get hit. Or more health? Either way still cool!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22pm

@imaginarymonsters i had wanted to do that, sadly i ran out of energy on the last day from lack of sleep over the weekend. so i balanced it as best i could without the invuln added :(

chas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Very impressive and a lot of fun. After rating a few games I particularly appreciate the unobtrusive, but constant instructions.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45am

Neat and fun game. cool pixel art also :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:43am

Really cool entry, the game plays well. There could have been more particles and effects to make it more dynamic, and I would have liked some kind of indicator where the portals are so the game wouldn't be so much just running around aimlessly.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:45am

@AdventureIslands those were all planned features, but alas, time is a harsh lady. Thank you for your comments though

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50am

loved your art and your audio. The game feels great. Best yet!

sephyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:00am

Impossible to play correctly with my French keyboard. Very very difficult, I died in a few seconds. I really like the design of you character. Stylish.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:03am

@sephyka, Apologies, i did not take into account anything other than a QWERTY keyboard, the game is playable with a controller though from windows/mac/linux builds.

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:05am

Graphics were great. The mechanic of destroying enemies in soul shift mode was cool, but not immediately clear. I think an indicator on the edge of the screen that points to the nearest portal would be helpful.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Good design and great music

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Great atmosphere, clever game, well done.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

Cool game.

Manou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice.

Conk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Only 38 deaths! Cool game, was a little tedious at times, but pretty solid, awesome graphics too!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:46am

Lovely graphics and cool gameplay! Quite enjoyable once you get the hang of it! (it took me a while to get it. I wasn't really clear on how to gather souls). It sets you in the mood right off the bat.

I couldn't beat it though. It's probably too hard for my noob shoot 'em up skills. Also firing was pretty much not working with my gamepad (PS3/PC-compatible Genius Maxfire Blaze 3. BIG Name. Average joystick) so I had to use keyboard.

It's a really good game though. I liked it a lot!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:24am

Very big potential with that game mechanic I think. System where enemies are the bullets looking pretty fresh.
But now game queit boring. 15 portals on the whole map without minimap also annoying.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I had some trouble finding my bearings, but once I DL'd the Windows version and picked up a gamepad, it all started making sense. Fantastic, top marks all around.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]