Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Song of the Dodo

by uvwar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The year is 1507 on the small island of Mauritius.

You play a flock of docile dodo birds as they go about their business as they've done for millennia.

But Portuguese sailors have recently arrived on the island, and have brought strange new animals with them. How long can you survive their onslaught?

W,A,S,D to control, with Space for jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#28Humor3.89
#486Fun3.12
#552Innovation3.16
#568Mood2.97
#569Graphics3.09
#575Overall3.19
#918Theme2.65
#981Audio1.50

Comments

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10am

W,A,S,D to control, Space to jump

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

The weirdest game I've played by far. In a good way. The spawning of the pigs/goats is hilarious. Of course the concept is 100% unique too. Lots of games about outer space, several about ghosts... only 1 game about dodo birds. If there was a uniqueness award, you'd have won it. The game is really challenging too. Nice work!

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27am

Haha wonderful :D were those murderous pigs or something?

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

Love the idea! 10/10 would become extinct again.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

You really feel the struggle of the Dodo when there's a tornado of pigs and goats chasing you

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34pm

My poor dodos went extinct almost immediately. Great game!

sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08pm

poor poor dodos....

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Nice, short game. Like visuals. Newer imagine that dodo can't swim ;)

buckslice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I just did laps around the island until a flying pig from the ship killed me. Pretty random lol, but I had fun! Poor dodos you will be missed.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

A realy nice humor , the only thing i want to say is that by placing a 2d gameobject into a 3d world the 2d will look weerd. By rotating it to the camera or placing one onthe x and one on the y or by replacing it by a 3d model the game would look beter.

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

The first really funny LD game I've played. I really like the way the pigs and goats behave.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

very funny little game. Wasn't sure what to do at first but it gave me a good laugh

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Hilarious! Played this with a big grin on my face :) A little bit of music could do wonders i think.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Cute! The game over screen is a nice touch.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

haha this was pretty silly!

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Haha really nice concept. I like how the boats just keep on flooding the island as they arrive. But I realized that the Dodo's ultimate survival technique is its ability to swim (and not drown)! :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57pm

The hordes of animals are pretty hilarious and the island looks great! Awesome hiscore display too :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03am

Simple and funny idea :) The trees look a bit strange, but who cares ;)

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23am

The game is really neat, and the concept is good, however it doesn't relate to the theme very well.

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

Weird and unique (theme-wise). I managed to break it and to survive... for ever, hehe.

varun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Spawning is hilarious, lol. Managed to survive by camping out in the ocean.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25am

My dodos got clobbered.
Never made it past 1560!

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:54am

I'm loving this. I feel so bad for the birds.

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:21am

Took me awhile to figure out what was going on at first! Many dodos were slaughtered.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09am

Pretty funny silly game. poor birds! I liked the island. I wished there was more to do than avoid dying. Maybe get some collectibles or something to make it worth running into risky areas.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10am

So cool! Good thing dodos can swim. maybe that's where some still are...

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34am

Cute idea. I survived indefinitely by using the dodo's most overpowered ability -- walking on water while all the animals commit suicide!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Pretty cool game.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I love how the ship swings by and drops of a SWARM of pigs! The pigs are crazy by the way. Interesting interpretation of the theme, but the controls and the ever rotating camera made it too hard to control. Maybe consider adding some kind of attack ability to fend of those blood thirsty herbivores? ;D

vinull says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Weird. Probably not intended, but if you jump in the water you became immortal. The Dodo Highlander. There can be only one!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Damn those killer pigs! Is it intentional all the other dodos being killed so quick?

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:57am

Awesome game! Would be even better with some comedy sound effects. It seems you can just walk out to sea and survive indefinitely though. Overall, very good game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]