Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Enter the Multiverse

by SgtGorm - Jam Entry

I had this idea for a game based on colliding worlds, inspired by the moba infinite crisis I play frequently.
So this is some form of dodge obstacles game with world changing abilities that change your players form helping you avoid things. My first entry into ludum dare :).

you can only pass through red, half/alpha blocks in the "shadow" universe.
the "bouncy" universe, makes you jump higher
the "small" universe makes you tiny.

The Controls;
Left & Right arrow keys to move
Up to jump
Space to switch universes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#330Innovation(Jam)3.13
#450Fun(Jam)2.92
#492Theme(Jam)2.92
#629Overall(Jam)2.81
#680Mood(Jam)2.30
#707Graphics(Jam)2.35
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Pretty cool, a bit difficult at first but once you get used to the controls it's fun! Nice work!

Maek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Cool game, but a little bit buggy or are the bugs normal? I dont know. Graphics are great!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:18pm

That was a lot of fun discovering the effects of each shape and frantically trying to switch in time. Good job!

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39pm

My bad on the bugs! The reset implementation was hacked up at 4am in the morning :P, i'm going to try and fix them now.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37pm

I cant jump over the first wall, but i like the style of the graphics, good work!

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

Pretty darn challenging.

allenfreese says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Nice presentation... Was able to play over and over again... although unclear on the rules.

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:21am

A lot of fun and a great idea. I was confused as hell at first, because I couldn't get over the first wall, but when I read the directions (like I should have in the first place) the game was cool and challenging.

I really wish the spacebar was jump. :P

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:33am

Fun game - I like the inclusion of the 'this is how quickly you died' score. :D

Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:24am

Didn't rate it. I think there's something wrong with the game speed. The first wall comes at me in a split second. I always die at around 0.25 seconds.

doomista says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Nice game, but got a bit boring after 321s in a single game. I suppose the levitation is a bug, not an intended behavior.

SgtGorm says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:47am

@doomista didn't expect anyone to get that far in all honesty :P, nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]