Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Peak

by ofwindandsea - Jam Entry

In Peak, you control a dimensional rift, or "peek," connecting two worlds. Your goal is to help Scout, a lone child explorer, ascend the side of a mountain by transporting him between the two worlds.

Created using:
Unity 4.5
Adobe Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#17Innovation(Jam)4.21
#77Theme(Jam)3.82
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#282Fun(Jam)3.21
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#461Mood(Jam)2.94
#546Graphics(Jam)2.95
#563Humor(Jam)1.82

Comments

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Very neat concept with the two sliding bars to switch the world.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I love this idea... but it made me feel very stupid and bad at games ha. Nice work on the music.

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Excellent concept but could use some more polish here and there.

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Nice Ideia

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Interesting concept. One thing that would have made it less awkward is if the lines were clamped to not go beyond the edges of the screens I found myself leaving the A/S line way behind.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:06am

Beautiful music, very relaxing to play. I forgot that I could make him stop for a while, and that made the game very difficult ;) After that, I was doing a bit better, but it still felt awkward at times. Also, if you stop during a jump you fall to your death! I guess that makes sense, altho I expected it to work more like a pause or time freeze.

I really like the concept and the mood of the game. Good work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

I had a few issues with falling through the ground which was visible, but other than that I like the game a lot. I found the AS/KL control scheme to be surprisingly intuitive. Very nice job.

ofwindandsea says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29am

Thanks for all of the feedback, everyone. This was our first Ludum Dare. During the development, we were recognizing many of the problems that are being addressed here: the lines going beyond the bounds of the screen, Scout not keeping his momentum when paused in midair, etc. However, I'm glad that everyone likes the mechanic of manipulating the dimensional rift.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:20am

I really like this game, cool concept. It was a little buggy, sometimes the player fell through the floor, but I am sure you know that. For your first ludum dare, this is a fantastic entry.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Great concept.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Couldn't complete the first level, it's too hard for me. Would be great to play it polished.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Awesome entry! I think the only thing it needs is some polish on the difficulty curve. It starts off as being VERY difficult. Graphics, sound, mood, all do the job, but it is the mechanic and the team that truly make this game great.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Once I fully understood the stop feature, (that it prevents the scout from falling down) it got a lot easier.
Nice game and the music was really calming.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Nice idea!

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:20am

Nice job, guys! I really like the mood of the game and the soothing color palette + music. Your game is HARD but it's truly fun once you get the hang of it. Your take on the theme was perfect! Looking forward to see what else you make.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16am

Very interesting concept and potential features to add. But its a pity that you didn't have enough time or whatever to create a real personal atmosphere and good graphics.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Preety difficult game, the leaning curve is very high, could make the first level easier.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I'm so mad I didn't come up with this idea. Great idea and execution.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:59am

I like the idea, though tough to get used to haha

pizzalicious says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Challenging game. Great controls. Cool music.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:20am

great idea, couldn't make sense of the controls.

twintrite says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Very cool concept and interpretation of the theme :)

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Nice, like the idea. And it's very relaxing game :)

EnigmAraigne says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Nice One! Really like this game. It'f un but also challenging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]