Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Mail

by jab - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD48 entry! I'd describe it as a mix between a tower defence and something else.

Sort the mail between the four alien races, don't mess up!
Purchase new 'Belt'o'Matics' to improve your Space Mail depo.

Credits are awarded once the you've processed the entire shipment!
The better you did, the more credits you get.

Controls:
Click and drag the conveyor belts.
Single click the conveyor belts to rotate them.

Music, code and art: Myself.

UPDATE FIX:
As someone mentioned in the comments, the second last wave is actually impossible to complete given the time limit. Which means you can't win the game. I've now fixed that!

Tools:
Coded in Unity3D 4.5.3
Drawn in Paint.Net 4
Composed in FL Studio.

Sound Sample Credits:
49972__mwl500__xraybelt
54999__carbonparlour__tick
142608__autistic-lucario__error
157409__cloudyeyetavern__c-spence-kick01
171696__nenadsimic__picked-coin-echo
220173__gameaudio__spacey-1up-power-up
222575__coby12388__bombhit01

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#337Humor2.71
#479Innovation3.26
#585Fun3.00
#630Mood2.89
#691Audio2.45
#715Graphics2.87
#802Overall2.96
#808Theme2.87
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:07am

My first game using Unity (First 4.6 then mid-jam aborting since only 4.5 player works)! Was nice to take a break from C++.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Unless I'm being stupid this is incredibly difficult... Cool idea though. I don't understand how you get credits so you can buy more belts, delivering correct mail doesn't seem to do anything.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Pretty cool game :) It would be nice if you could get mail packages to disappear quicker when they fall off the belt-o-matics, even if you had to pay credits.

I also had one of my belt-o-matics get stuck after buying it because I bought two at the same time.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Really nice game! Connected worlds in an unique way, expected a lot of space but this was innovative! My packets got owned though, and then they were in the way :(
But fun! :)

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Nice game. Hard as hell. GJ.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04pm

At first I wasn't sure about the concept or how this plays. But once I played it, it was fun figuring out a strategy and not messing up.

It was hard to get things right and took me a few times until I was able to figure out the ins and outs of the belts. I earned a few credits but I wasn't sure how I can get more belts.

At first I didn't see the sign saying "Buy More belts" I was more fixated on the other parts of the screen (and the grey button on top of grey wall wasn't quite visible).

Once I found the button the game turned to be much easier than I expected.

Cool concept and take on the theme. Nicely done :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:52am

Hi there. Interesting and novel idea. I found it difficult to move the belts around fast enough.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06pm

An auto sorter of some kind, even if only for two colors, would have made this loads easier. Cool game nonetheless :)

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

I like the concept but I found the control too hard to enjoy really the game. Cliking over and over to get the arrow in the right direction makes me put the arrow in the wrong direction and there is no way to correct my mistakes. But if you added some kind of logical block to the belts, I think it would be more enjoyable(like if it weight more than 20 kilos go left, if it's blue go up, and stuff like that).

dusho says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:28pm

nice one..
I think there is a bug when clicking on purchase more than once and only then trying to take purchased belt.. second one can't be dragged

Razoric says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Wow great concept! If you balanced it a little better you could have a hit on your hands.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Nov 10, 2014 @ 7:39am

Yeah, I too liked the idea but the difficulty was too hard!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]