Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Smart Home

by Garrett Hoofman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Theme - Idea was that you're running a smart home that connects all of your worlds together: Entertainment, Work, Social Life, etc.

Information
==================================
This is running under the OPifex Engine, still under development, could be buggy.

It was tested under Windows 8.1 with an Intel card. If you have a problem running it, please send me a screenshot of the console output and I'll see if I can fix it.

Or run it from command prompt: Application.exe > log.txt
And then send me the log.txt file at garrett@teamopifex.com

Controls
==================================
Enter - Go Through Menus
Space - Move through time faster
Left Mouse Click - Click on objects

Unfinished
==================================
Kitchen - Character doesn't eat :/
Restaurant - No social life..
Additional People - Wanted to add kids, wife, co-workers, etc.
Security System
Additional Controls - Air Conditioning, Phone Calls, etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Innovation3.90
#229Humor2.94
#317Graphics3.48
#367Theme3.50
#404Mood3.17
#543Overall3.22
#668Fun2.91
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58pm

I like how you interpreted the LD theme, going for "connected" rather than connecting worlds. The concept is nice, managing a house and meeting the user's demands, but the pace is a bit slow and repetitive. However, with more time and more features (which apparently you had in mind already :D), could be a lot funnier ! I also like the 3D scene and the rooms layout, with the cool lights when he's watching TV & all.

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Great idea.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Very innovative and fun game. Love graphics. This dude gets mad when there is no TV like this is ALL his life :)

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04pm

I like it!

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

It doesnt work! It crashes

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Bah, is there an error you're getting? Most likely it's a shader problem, could you try running it in the command line: Application.exe > log.txt and send me the log.txt? I should be able to fix it if I can get a log of the output.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Ok

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13pm

It works!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14pm

o0 Intermittent bugs are so much worse...

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Good ideas, it feels like the sims

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Cool idea! I had some problem with the view controls since holding left-click to move the view also triggers a click where you put the mouse, but other than that pretty cool.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Good ideas, it feels like the sims

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13am

I really like the idea :)

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Congrats on working out an original idea to fit the theme. Pacing is a little slow, though. The game looks great and the concept is cool, but it obviously needs more to keep the player busy. Overall very good job on making a functional and original idea within the deadline :)

abeing says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:34pm

innovative idea and intuitiv gameplay. like it. with some sound effects it would add some extra atmosphere i think.

vogon101 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Really good but it sometimes crashed and the objects were hard to click on

bushmango says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:04am

I like it but there's too much just waiting around. If you did add more people that would help :)

Logan says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:46am

Heh, I could see this being pretty neat with a comprehensive enough group of people and tasks to tend to. As it is, you can learn the guy's pattern pretty readily and keep him satisfied.
Still, not bad for the time given.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]