Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

City Hero

by FerrenReve - Jam Entry

Be loved or hated by the Survivors in attempts of saving them from invaders from the other world.

Controls
Rotate - Mouse
Shoot -Left mouse button

Task
Kill all Chimeras till they kill all Survivors.


Developed by

Nikita K -kotter96@hotmail.co.uk
nkChehov - chehovnk@ya.ru

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#445Fun(Jam)2.93
#475Humor(Jam)2.17
#486Audio(Jam)2.76
#491Graphics(Jam)3.11
#550Overall(Jam)2.96
#582Mood(Jam)2.71
#668Innovation(Jam)2.37
#732Theme(Jam)1.91

Comments

JRPGKING says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36am

You don't seem to have everything hooked up quite right with drop box. The link takes me to a page to download the .html and the .unity3d files.

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Looks like you have a problem with dropbox, you could migrate your game to itch.io

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

You probably need to put the files in the Public Dropbox folder.

locknic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Yeh, the dropbox link is wonky.

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

It's confusing in the beginning because I thought the blue ones were the enemy. Maybe state what the colours mean in the description. Nice graphics.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02pm

If you download the links and open the html it will work but Dropbox doesn't work the same for free acounts anymore. I had the same problem.
The game is sharp, fun, easy pick up n play. Theme?

FerrenReve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Web Link is fixed. Enjoy.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

I like the look of the game a lot. More ambient sound would have been nice (of the chimeras attacking, of the people running around and panicking). Standard rotating turret gameplay not especially innovative but it works.

cptnwaffles says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Needs more environmental noises and an explanation of colors of the entities in the world. Also, being able to move would be fantastic since repeatedly a chimera gobbled up someone behind a building where I couldn't kill him.

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Fun and well made.
Being able to move around would add a lot to the game.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Neat, I didn't realize that I wasn't supposed to shoot the blue guys first and then realized I was killing all the survivors 0_0

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Haha I killed all the survivors the first round.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This was a lot more fun than I initially thought it would be. I guess the risk of shooting survivors if I didn't carefully aim added a lot to the gameplay. Would have liked to see some way to move survivors who wanted to hug the cannon for some reason. Shooting them in the face worked, but it seemed counter productive '^^

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

"oh no that's impossible" OWTTE. Did I win?

cacciatc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Nice blood splattering :)

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01am

Fun game, win with just two survivors left!

draxov says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:15pm

I loved the frustration/fun that came from the people you were trying to protect getting in the way, just adds a little bit onto this shooter that sets a step out from others. Well done!

Could have done with some sort of end score though to give me an idea of how well I did, an perhaps to encourage me to play further.

dook says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Nice game! I really like the simple, thing graphics. Super hard, though :) The movement patterns/ai could be a lot better though, with more variations in their patterns and something to keep them from getting stuck.

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:30pm

web player has an error, can't rate

TehSkull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:47pm

This game is super fun. I dig it!

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Wow, this game is really addictive. It's difficult and challenging. I liked the simple graphics, and how the enemies spawned.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Nice feeling! I like the mayhem part at the end where many Chimeras spawn at the same time.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:29am

The web link didn't work unfortunately. Anyways I got the windows version to work and I like the idea in the game. I think the game is too easy for like 5 minutes and then suddenly it get impossible. I wish it what more gradual in the difficulty of the game. I also came across several bugs like the chimeras spawning in buildings and the game already playing while on the main screen. I guess these issues are just a result of short time and I'm sure if you finished everything up it could be a great game! Good job :D

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:02am

Won and lost once :P
The game is nice, but I didn't see any changes on survivors' behavior after shooting many of them :/

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:02am

I won with exactly one survivor. I was just about to write it off as a bit slow, but got really fun when all the chimaeras appeared on the screen at once towards the end. Really gratifying getting a chimaera with a narrow miss of the blue dudes. I probably killed more of those than the chimaeras :)

Great job!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:43am

it's a little dark, so very hard to see what's going on. But overall was fun to play

runvs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:07am

Hi there, i cannot play your entry, the unity webplayer on http://rgby.comule.com/ says "data file corrupt".

Toubib says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:13am

invalid data file :( i want to play your game xD

MercuryLegba says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:26am

Meh. Invalid data file.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:27am

Everything is extremely small (1024x768 needed at least). But interesting game, well made ;).

Wesley Ding says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:36am

OVERALL RATING: N/A Cannot load. "Invalid data file"
FACTORS THAT LOWERED YOUR RATING:
FACTORS THAT RAISED YOUR RATING:

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I liked the blood effect. Graphics could be really nice if it had bigger monsters. Because everything is better with giant monsters.

waynaul says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Great graphics. Very well polished.

Piscythe says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:12am

Interesting idea. I liked the mechanic of trying to avoid collateral damage, though after what you said about civilians getting angry if you shot too many I was expecting more of a consequence than just losing the civilians (I tried just murdering all the survivors to see what happened.) The game is a nice challenge, and I won with only 1 survivor on my second attempt. Still, I felt really restrained by the lack of movement and options.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Good idea, but something is missing. I think you need some punishment for player for killing survivors or some serious changes, because it's still too easy to shoot chimeras and win with 1-2 last survivors.
I won because of the funny bug where chimeras stuck running into building where las survivor was hidden. After winning I killed last survivor and lost :) Well, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]