Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

orbit

by JRPGKING - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare!

If it's running a little slow in the browser try a desktop build.

I had an absolute blast making this. Let me know what you think.

Unity/VS2013/Photoshop/Ableton Live

You can find me on twitter @JRPGKING

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Mood3.93
#72Audio3.71
#271Fun3.41
#575Overall3.19
#663Graphics2.94
#663Humor2.17
#774Theme2.91
#950Innovation2.59
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

More of a toy than a game, I suppose, but very enjoyable regardless.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

for a game without any goals or objectives, I had a "blast" playing it. The visuals and audios worked great together and the game was enjoyable to play.

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50am

Pretty.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

Nice job, spent longer than I intended trying to get a nice circular orbit :)

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56am

Sandbox fun!

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12am

Very meditatively. I think this idea can grow up to somthing whery cool

FerrenReve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14am

Fun sandbox playground.

shasharala says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20am

Wow. For being a sandbox that was really well designed.
I liked playing with the gravity around that center bit and was pleasantly surprised to find planets from earlier orbiting around the center, spiraling back onto the screen.

What really impressed me was how the sounds of planets falling into the center merged perfectly with the main song.

Overall, a great job. I would love to see it taken further.

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28am

top-notch and mesmerizing!

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37am

Fun! Doesn't a similar game already exist, though?

http://www.stefanom.org/spc/

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59am

Really fun toy you've made there! I got obsessed with making orbits closer to circles, eccentric and slingshots reasonably easy, but... grr at the gravity. Excellent implementation of nice idea. Like the sounds too.

ljdp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42am

Coding orbital mechanics is fun isn't it? This could be made into a nice little music toy, like the pitch and volume of different tracks depends on the speed/mass/distance from center. Would be nice to have an option to see a trail of each body.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Could be nice experience if you would add some challenges ;)

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Very relaxing experience. Thank you! :)

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I had to download the windows zip, to run the linux version(the donwload is only the binary, without data files), but it works just fine

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Nicely done.
(For some reason it took me a bit to figure out that you can create planets anywhere, not just by clicking and dragging out from the center point. Obviously this led to planets not orbiting at all. Clearly a problem with my brain, not the game, but I thought you might want to know.)

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Congratulation on your first LD entry! :D It was truly a mesmerising experience.

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:43am

Great music.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:46am

Very interesting simulator. Enjoyed the mood that was created with the music!

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:35am

This was actually pretty neat! Very relaxing, I enjoyed getting a bunch of planets into a good orbit and then just watching and listening to the sounds. Bookmarked for later!

fizzd says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06am

Hey this is a really nice sandbox game! Love the drone music and how the how the notes meld perfectly into the soundtrack.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Did not know what to do in the game, my planets keep going to the black holes D:

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]