Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frogging - XNA

by gladers - Jam Entry

UPDATE ITS WORKING!!
Thank you for all your comments. I have fixed the game and also included Microsoft XNA with the game. (Its a 6mb install file)

-------------------------------------------------

The year is 1985..
On route 69 there has been a head on collision between two trucks.
One containing state of the art arcade games such as frogger and pacman, pong clones and the other containing toxic waste.

The toxic waste has caused the arcade world to connect with the real world.

The roads are overrun with Space Invaders, pong has overtaken a basketball court and Pacman has found a hedge maze in the local park!!

Can you escape to the other-side of the river before the military comes to clean up this mess??

Replay the game for harder difficulties.

-----------------------------------------------

Windows - Unzip and install XNA if you don't have it already (you probably do have it installed). Then run the Arcade.exe to start the game.

-----------------------------------------------
Version history

v1 Crashed without Windows Games Live installed
v2 Normal game - The way god intended
v3 Slight difficulty adjustment to prevent tears

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#114Humor(Jam)3.27
#202Fun(Jam)3.37
#223Theme(Jam)3.51
#397Overall(Jam)3.20
#502Innovation(Jam)2.82
#511Audio(Jam)2.67
#513Graphics(Jam)3.03
#577Mood(Jam)2.72

Comments

gladers says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Frogger clone with levels from pong, space invaders and pacman.

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:05am

Crashing on launch for me, on Windows 7. No error, just an application has stopped working message.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07am

Nice theme

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11am

Crashed on start for windows 7, no error

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12am

This game was fun. A blast from the past!

gladers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13am

@5T4MP5 do you have xna 4 installed? Can you try to open Arcade.ccgame if you have xna?

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:37am

Why you no Mac?

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46am

Fun game! Great idea to connect the 'arcade world' with the real world ;)

swabbur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12am

Unable to open it in windows 7... XNA is installed and working properly

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14am

lol this was awesome, I loved it. I managed to complete all the levels (It started over so assumed I was done)
A brilliant idea!!
The controls and collisions were a bit unforgiving, but I really liked it, and wonderful use of the theme! Great job!

gladers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19am

@Mekuri Thanks for playing :D
It restarts and gets a bit harder, theres an ending screen if you can complete it on hard, but the pong level is brutal on hard mode :)

gladers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22am

If the games not running and you have xna installed, please contact me by twitter @gladers so we can diagnose and get the game running on as many pcs as possible.

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Good game, but very repetitive. Would love a little bit of variation in an updated version

gladers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56pm

@Vytheros if theres enough interest in extending the game I will, remember frogger only had 1 screen, this has 4 :)

kikito says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Hehe, poor frogs! Mixing up so many gameplay elements in one weekend was surely challenging. Gave you 5 points on Innovation and Humor :)

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17pm

I love it. Nice concept.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:03am

Very cool! We actually considered doing a frogger game that was connected to a racing game so the cars could run over the frogs.

nolife-team says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:05am

Overall liked the idea, but the controls are really difficult:)

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Great game, I like a lot how genres where mixed together.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Not too innovative and quite short. And collision detection on pong level is so unfair it makes me cry. But it fits the theme very well!

gladers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:36pm

*Hint the left bat aims the ball right at you. The right bat reflects it. The easiest way to dodge the ball is going downwards. Make the run from the right of the screen.
See you tube video if you are still stuck. Anyone else need the pong round made more simple? Theres like 5 different ways to complete it.

gladers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Definition of Innovative - Introduce (something new).

To the world of Frogger, theres a lot of new stuff :)

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice. If this was an arcade cabinet you would have made all your money on the pacman level.

Phaix says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:34am

Good old times. Interesting interpretation as it fits.

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Cool idea for the theme!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:46pm

I liked the way you interpretated the theme 'connected worlds', but besides that, the game is not bery original... Good graphics.

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:29am

Thanks for showing this at the Frankfurt Independent Game Dev Meetup

H1S2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

The game looks really hard. I really like the idea of mixing different arcade games. I know some of these assets I think ;) Great entry - good job

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Cool way to fit the theme. Fun and polished game, and I like how you can keep walking up to increase the difficulty. I got stuck on the insane difficulty though.

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:06pm

lot's done in the short time you had, good connection between games. well done!

ericdpitts says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Great job, neat idea. I liked the music too! I got stuck on the pacman level though, could never sneak around those damn ghosts. I wouldn't have a chance on the "hard" mode :P

Lvyn says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Nice idea ! :)

whalebot says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Neat concept. Impressed you were able to create all those different styles so quickly!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:19am

Nice interpretation of the theme, and it is impressive that everything work! That said, the gameplay is a little stiff, specially on the "PACMAN" level. Don't know if that was intentional, but it didn't feel natural.

By the way, I see that you tried running my game last week, but it crashed. I've detected and fixed some memory errors, so you're welcome to come back and try it again! Thanks :)

Rehacked says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:01am

Nice game!Good job.but only a question: Why controll of menu was with arrows and game with WASD ??

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]