Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Der Klappermann

by Team Klappermann - Jam Entry

SETTING:

Your soul is now connected to the ancient Lord of Darkness - Der Klappermann.

Guide him down the path to the devout priests which deserve his retaliation. Every step supports the expansion of your ruthless empire. When you encounter a spell circle in the form of a pentagram, walk along the edges to dissolve it. This will break the circle and the priests are vulnerable, but be carefull the priest will try to dissolve you by luring you on their ground.

Once the circle is broken it is the time to dissolve them on your burning land. But if they can restore their magic shield, they will try to attack you and the cycle starts again. And don't forget to dash!

Break, Dissolve, Dash, Reign, Repeat.
BREAK, DISSOLVE, DAsh, Reign, Repeat.
BREAK, DISSOLVE, REIGN, REPEAT.
REIGN, KLAPPER, REIGN, REPEAT.



HOW TO PLAY?

The GOAL of the game is to dissolve the priests and their world.

If you get in contact with grass you will DISSOLVE.
If priests get in contact with your world they will DISSOLVE themselves.

At the beginning the priests and their holy trees are very strong, you have to weaken them by devouring the energy of their holy sign (blue glowing writings on the ground).
The trees will start to decay.

Once you weakend their magic enough their sign will dissappear and you become dominant
(great change in MOOD & LIGHTNING).
Now the priests are unable to restore their dimension around them,
so you have to make them go on your unholy ground and they will dissolve.

You can heal yourself by dissolving plants and attacking the sign of the priests.
Each DASH will dissolve you by 5% so don't use them too much.



CONTROLS:

WASD to walk
Mouse to look around
Mouse Left or Space to dash (5% HP loss)
Mouse wheel to zoom

XBOX360 controller:
1st Stick move
2nd stick look around
A to dash (5% HP loss)
Shoulder keys to zoom

Klipp, Klapp, Klapp, Der Klappermann...

Done from scratch in 72 hours.

TEAM:
Erik W. (@fastpath) (Programming & Gamedesign)
Gerard A. (Gamedesign)
Henning H. (All art!)
Jannes N. (@JannesNagel)(Programming & Shader & Gamedesign)
Tilman G. (Programming & Gamedesign)
Tobias A. (Particle effects)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#32Graphics(Jam)4.47
#85Audio(Jam)3.76
#88Mood(Jam)3.79
#159Overall(Jam)3.56
#219Innovation(Jam)3.35
#343Theme(Jam)3.24
#454Fun(Jam)2.91
#568Humor(Jam)1.80

Comments

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:40am

Bruatal art and incredible graphics. Very original atmosphere. Congrats!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Unbelievable. AAA look. Amazing sound.
Don't know what to do though. Skeleton guys keep killing me. Fell off the level :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25pm

You have to stand on the pentagramm. Then it will get dark and you have to stand near the priests to dissolve them. But be carefull when they healed all trees they will be dangerous again!

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Outstanding graphics and sound design! I am really intrigued by this game. One thing i miss is an indcation of your current health, but aside from that i enjoyed this game very much. Thanks for making this!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Hi,
thank you very much for your feedback!

The indication of health is how much the player is dissolved, but sometimes it is hard to see with all those effects around it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

I think I was able to dash during the menu and find my way out of bounds / fall off the world. Either way, really cool! I love the black particle waves surrounding the player.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I had no idea what I was doing but it looks and sounds incredible!

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

This is just overall great. sound design is very atmospheric and the artwork is obviously really good. Takes a few minutes to figure out how to do it, but that's part of the fun. Give it a go, it's absolutely worth your time.

master_f says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40pm

cool gameplay, if u would add a highscoresystem i would play it maybe some hours longer ;)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Thank you master_f we will think about it. Maybe we will extend it so that new challenges emerge with each playthrough. =)

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Very cool game, well done. I can't seem to dissolve any of the priests.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Pretty nice looking game. Next time try to make the objetive more clear =D

eott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Note to self: Do not dash into trees.
Amazing game and very atmospheric.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29pm

The animations are incredible, and graphics overall look much better than they should after 72 hours :). Great job.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:06am

pretty damn amazing work overall, you put a lot in to the visuals! sound concept all around

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

Nice game, congrats!

spolsh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

Nice style but difficulty is too high for me.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:54am

Hey Leute, macht endlich ne Linux-Version

Ofursnati says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:05am

nice game. have the mouse look stuck on invert mouse was annoying. love the graphics and sound. GJ

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:11am

The game looks amazing! Very polished and one can see you took your time with other details such as a tutorial or the website where the game is hosted. Well done!

villhest says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Just... Wow! Looks awesome!

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Very interesting and atmospheric, but I couldn't kill those priests for the life of me. Still, fantastic entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]