Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soulmates

by PeerPlay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about two soulmates that are near eachother, yet so far away, ripped apart by different dimensions. Can you bring them back into eachothers arms?

This is my first entry into Ludum Dare, and hope you enjoy it!

Features:
- pixelart
- mindblowing animations
- 2 similar music scores
- a short but challenging level

Controls:
Move: left/right arrows
Jump: up arrow
Flip worlds: spacebar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#136Theme3.83
#504Overall3.26
#545Fun3.06
#581Humor2.28
#596Mood2.94
#602Audio2.64
#607Graphics3.03
#773Innovation2.86

Comments

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:43am

Ahaha, great minds think alike - didn't expect to see another "Soulmates" on here :D The game is good, though it's quite difficult (or maybe I just suck at it!). Great job! :)

Tonasz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:38am

Fun idea, I think it's similar to mine. Even though I like challenging games, I found this difficulty a bit frustrating because of level generator - sometimes it gives unbeatable obstacles (at least I find them unbeatable). Could you also explain hanging mechanic? Can I jump after grabbing a wall?

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

It's challenging, and a lot easier to play when you have someone else acting as a back seat driver. Nice pixel art.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Thank you for your kind comments. I took the liberty of making the Webgame & Windows build easier, by spawning less enemy spots. It should now be easier to beat ;)

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Nice game, couldn't beat it though. Also I do't know what flipping was for. It basically just changed sides but they were still both vulnerable.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Cool game. The art is really nice. I like the 'soulmates' idea. Gameplay gets pretty boring soon though, but I see some really good potential here, especially with that art!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11am

Really nice concept!

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice concept! Needs more polish but great work for 48 hours!

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Quite a challenging game, I like it. The physics are a bit wrong though (you can stand on a wall).
Anyways, great first entry. I encourage you to take part in the next one, too!
PS: This game reminded me a little bit of my own one. We must have had similar thoughts in the beginning, but took them into different directions :-)

kyru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Fun game, kind of hard.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Simple game, but really fun. I loved how the levels are randomly generated, it gives it a lot of replay value.

It just needed a score to make it more interesting.

Also, it has already been said, the physics have some problems, with players sticking on walls, but nothing that hurts the game.

That's a pretty good one!

nosfer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Similar but not exactly like Fractured Souls for 3DS ;)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

simple and lovely game

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Really nice shot ! Love the interpretation of the theme !
The game was quite difficult, though, but liked it !

Good job ;)

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Interesting little game. I enjoy how flipping doesn't actually do anything gameplay wise, but it helps you concentrate better.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare dude! Nice work.
The collisions were a bit off and the game is a bit too unforgiving for my taste, wrong jump? BOOM loud sfx DEAD.
But it does have that "just one more try" feeling. Flipping worlds is the best thing since it obviously helps without really changing anything.
The end cracked me up big time whaha.

swistakm says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Nice style. Collision detection could be better because player very often sticks to the wall without ability to jump.

Eddy93 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Good job for your first LD man! The game was quite difficult in the beginning, I became better after a couple times failing. I liked what you did with the sound and I also liked how the levels were randomly generated. Like said before the collisions were a bit off, so that made it more difficult too. But again: GOOD JOB!

Jaloko says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:47am

Nice game.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Collision needs some work - Id get stuck on walls often.

sez says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Nice game for such a short time! Is it me or is the switch just there for fun or is it really mandatory?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]