Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Four Sided Sanctuary

by pinkduh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello and thanks for checking out my lil game! :D

Take the command of two lonely cubes and try to keep them safe/healthy!

Each cube gets a little sick over time so make sure to collect some kissing hearts. xoxo

The xna distro is required to run the game. You can download it from here:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Controls:

w - move top cube up
s - move top cube down
up arrow - move bottom cube up
down arrow - move bottom cube down

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#320Audio3.12
#444Theme3.40
#475Mood3.08
#480Humor2.44
#514Overall3.25
#545Fun3.06
#574Graphics3.08
#734Innovation2.92

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57am

Cool pixel art - I found it challenging to keep tabs on both cubes at once.

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01am

Nice game, quite polished setup.
In the long run it tends to get a bit boring. Maybe some other obstacles than just blocks in your way would spice it up.

pinkduh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06am

Thanks for the comments! :)

@varun Glad you liked the art. Was my first time trying to actually make textures!

@endurion Thanks! Yeah, I agree it gets boring after a while. Would be cool to add other obstacles besides just blocks. I think I spent too much time on trying to fix audio crashes. ;-;

Thanks for trying it out!

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30am

Simple and nice! I like this one! This double control scheme makes my brain interlocked :p

BTW, I thinks you could use more harmonic colors, though the sprites are nice overall.

Oana says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Lol and I thought I made a difficult game... It is pretty fun, although it would be nice to have it gradually increase in difficulty, starting out slow and with few objects and picking up the pace... But still, good job!

Animan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Very cool! I suck at these types of "multi-tasking" games, but I can still appreciate this one. Very polished. Will probably put on my Windows 8 tablet to play more. :)

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

A good entry all round! Very well presented, slick controls and definitely an interesting challenge. I like the way you incentivised the collectables by having the character lose speed over time. It's definitely an interesting dynamic. Your level generation seems to also do a good job of spacing out / alternating obstacles early in a run to prevent too much 'do two things at once' very early on. The difficulty can ramp up very, very quickly at times though! And at other times be very easy, but it has a nice feeling to it overall.

It might seem trivial but I think that tracking score/distance would have been a really simple way to 'complete' this experience. Otherwise even though I can feel like I had a particularly good run it's hard to really compare or feel like I'm definitely getting better or making more progress. I don't know if there is any more to the game after you stay alive for so long, but I did play quite a few attempts.

I noticed the shmup style hitboxes too. A good touch, but until you become aware of your hitbox some of the mazes look very intimidating and you have to learn a little bit by trial and error. The other problem with these hitboxes is that being very different to the size of the player(s) it's hard to identify exactly where the hitboxes REALLY are. As in a shmup it's usually a focal point like the ship pilot or cockpit. So sometimes I expect my small collision box to save me and it doesn't, or other times I expect to die and I don't. I think you could possibly have afforded to have larger hitboxes here and perhaps smaller obstacles to compensate, but I definitely respect that you put thought into this to begin with.

Very enjoyable, good work!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Really nice. Maybe this would be easier with two people. Sounds sound nice too. Nice work

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

I cannot start the game. I extracted all the data and when I start the game-start.bat file with admin rights it says four-sided-sanctuary doesn't exist.

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Very polished and enjoyable, quite hard to watch both cubes at once and to keep them happy as well

pinkduh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Thanks everyone again for trying out my game! :)

@shaunjs Thanks so much for the detailed comment! Appreciate the feedback a lot. Ye I agree having some kind of tracking/score system would have made the game feel MUCH more complete. Right now it's just kinda boring after a few mins. No real payoff in the game. :/ Also I used to have background music playing but I kept getting weird ogg vorbis streaming errors. ;-;

Also, that's cool you noticed the shmup style hit boxes! Bullet hells are my favorite! Ye, you kinda just have to experiment to get to know how the collision is going to work. At first when you see those tight spaces its like "no way im going to pass!" If I were to redo the game I would like add a little dot or something to the cubes to help indicate this is the spot that will collide into obstacles.

Thanks again for the feedback! :D

pinkduh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

@Macocco Hello! Sorry about that. Have you tried running it as a non-admin? You also can just go into the "data" folder and run the exe there. The batch file was just a little shortcut. :)

eastes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01pm

exe didn't open for me. no error messages either.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44am

Today, I learned that I am really bad at controlling two things at once T_T. The title screen had really nice music, it would have been good to listen to it in game too!

I felt so bad when the squares turned frowny :(

pinkduh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

@eastes hmmm do you have the xna framework installed?

@andrewkennedy yeah it takes a little bit to get good at controlling both cubes. :) Yeah, I wanted to have the music actually play through the whole game but for some reason I couldn't get it to work properly. Was having weird audio bugs. So in the end I trashed it. :(

radmars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15am

Wow this is tough! Cool concept. The levels feel a bit too random, having more of a gradual ramp up in the amount of blocks or maybe scrolling speed would probably help that a lot. Having a score counter would be good too, I had no idea if I was getting any better :P Love the vibe from the graphics & sound. Awesome work :D

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:17pm

This is much to hard for me :) My brain will explode.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I liked it, very difficult game

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

Good game, I like the idea and it's tough! After playing for a while, though, it crashed with the message "CraftStudioRuntime has stopped working"... Oh well!

mipi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I liked it a lot! Just had some frame rate issues with the web version.

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:54am

Oh no, not another one of these control-two-things-at-once games. I'm horrible at them :P It was still pretty fun, I got pretty far once, so I'm pretty happy about that. The music was great.

flatgub says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:03am

Fun and simple yet challenging, i like it!
-Flatgub <3

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:03am

Maybe have goals other than progressing to the right and staying alive?

The pacing could go from easy to hard by generating obstacles on the top OR bottom and then both. Right now it seems to be totally random with no sense of progression.

I love the music and sfx, and distinctive art styles for both worlds. The story is also cute and comes through in the gameplay.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:07am

I liked this could use some more interactions.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Pretty fun and quite challenging. Nice job.

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Once again, a game is made that makes my brain and fingers mortal enemies. Groovy feel you've put together. Nice work!

bobombe says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:03pm

quit hard !!! but after a short time my brain begins to adapt itself^^ Really cool game !

EncryptedCow says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Good game, although I found it quite difficult to keep track of both cubes at once. Also I felt that the random generation could use some work, as some hearts were impossible to get without hitting blocks and sometimes I would respawn righ ton a block and die immediately. Nice idea.

frosty says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:44am

Great entry. =) Took a couple of tries before I got the hang of it, but after that it was really enjoyable.

kidando says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:26am

oh man that was hard. But it stayed true to the theme. I'm not very good at controlling characters at the same time :P. Congrats on finishing your game

Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:51pm

It was fun to play for a while, but having no pressure like lives or score did no good to the game. Graphics were neat and theme was well connected to the game... Loved the cube faces.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]