Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galacto's Intolerant

by Andro Dars - Jam Entry

Galacto's Intolerant - a game by Kiwi Soft

Galacto is a solar emperor who has a very powerful gravity gun but is somewhat insecure about himself. In an effort to be liked by his subordinates, he decides to do the infamous Solar Challenge. Help him align at least three planets in an attempt to fill the painful void behind his pneumostome and overcome the loneliness that drives him on in his quest for ever greater number of followers on meTEOR.

------------------------------------------------------------------
HOW TO PLAY
Click the planet you want to move and chose a direction. You can either move forward, back or swap the orbit with another planet. After clicking the swap arrow, click the planet you're swapping with. If you don't want to move the planets, you can pass the turn by clicking the sun.

Once you have 3 or more planets aligned, click the camera button on your phone. Please ignore the news on your meTEOR feed to not become sadder.

If you lose all your followers, you can choose to give up the challenge. If you give up, the game will crash. Totally a feature, not a bug.

-------------------------------------------------------------
The game is made in Game Maker Studio. This prototype was developed from scratch during LD30 and is our first game.

Peter Agg - Programming
Simon Allen - Game Design, Sound Design, Writing
Ando Dars - Project Management, Concept, Game Design, Writing
Ed Hicks - Art Direction, Game Design
Claudia Zimmer - Programming

We intend to make Galacto's Intolerant into a full game. If you like the prototype, you can follow @androdars for development updates and more nude pictures of Galacto.


KNOWN ISSUES

1) The final score is displayed partially incorrectly. Remaining followers shouldn't equal remaining population.
2) The puzzle is currently super easy to solve with three planets. If you just click the sun about 30 times, you will get three planets aligned. We discussed raising the minimum required amount to four planets but decided to keep it at three since the game is just a proof of concept anyway. If you'd like a challenge, try getting five or six planets aligned. And send us a screenshot @androdars for a bucket of space cred.


In memory of Mr. Darsy the Dog.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#43Humor(Jam)3.79
#202Innovation(Jam)3.38
#279Graphics(Jam)3.61
#429Theme(Jam)3.06
#453Overall(Jam)3.12
#484Audio(Jam)2.77
#486Mood(Jam)2.91
#599Fun(Jam)2.63

Comments

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Funny idea, Kinda frustrating to get it right but the humor kept me interested.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Got 600+ million likes but pizza without cheese is still not pizza :P

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Good idea of puzzle

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12pm

The humor is quite amusing. I like the concept and how it fits nicely with the theme.
You can beat the game by simply pressing the sun repeatedly though.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Can't play windows games... your screenshots look awesome though...

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Kinda funny. The music at the end sound great.

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Cool Idea!

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Gotta reallign the planets, but first lemme take a selfie~. Just kidding, anywayz the purpose was really hilarious but the gameplay was sorta unpredictable. i cant tell how much would the planets move but lolz not bad at all. The art is superb :D

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Well, it took me a while to understand what I should do. I think a little tutorial at the beginning (or even just some text with arrow explaining where I can click) would be nice.
Anyway, loved the selfie!

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Nice humor, but gameplay is not very fun, unfortunatly.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:27pm

The twitter of space creatures is funny and well drawn!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:36pm

The Michelin Tire Mascot needs a push-up bra! hahahahaha. Seriously, this was very nice entry. Artwork is creative and unusual, good humor, and this has been one of the most logically challenging games I've seen up this LD. The youTube tutorial was helpful as well :)

raddevon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Loving the whimsy and the pretty art!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42pm

It got flagged as a virus :/

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

like the followers score thing :)

Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:48am

Good idea to use Jupiter, Bringer of Jollity at the end, though it should really be attributed. I expected more levels given that there is plenty more to The Planets, LOL. The writing in the feed provided a solid framing device. I wish it had corresponded to what was happening in-game a little bit more. Overall... neat idea, but perhaps add some more gameplay to go with your writing?

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:04am

My first move was to move the purple planet forward, but that crashed the game! http://imgur.com/rAHZ9QS

Njord says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice concept ! It's a bit random at times, but I managed to win eventually !

goerp says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:50pm

The graphics look great, but Chrome refuses to donwload it, claims it will damage my computer. Is it virus free?

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Kinda tricky, but altogether pretty funny and an interesting idea! Keep up the good work :)

CoolIron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:05am

Great job!

Andro Dars says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:59am

Thank you for your comments, critique and praise! They are much appreciated.


Here are a couple of quick points/replies:

1) The file is most definitely not a virus. I get a false positive on roughly the third of every game I downloaded from LD. Be not afraid!
2) The music at the end is Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity by Gustav Holst and we had no intention to make you think that we wrote it : ) Our apologies to anyone who may have thought otherwise and to Gustav's 110 year old corpse.
3) The planets do not move randomly. Their speeds are in fact constant. What probably creates the feeling that their movement is random for some of the players is the fact that we don't give you any of the numeric values (neither the speeds nor the distance of their orbits). This is by design. We don't want the player to solve the puzzle by coming up with a formula.
4) Yes, the game is fairly short though getting all the planets to line up is not an easy task. You can get three planets lined up in less than 2 minutes and "win" the game. Again, done so by design since we're treating this more as a functional proof of concept than an actual full game.
5) If you are confused about the controls or the aim of the game, please refer to the instructions in the description and the tutorial video next to the download link.

Thank you for playing Galacto's Intolerant!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]