Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nibiru is late!

by Inudenis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Nibiru is sleeping, then suddenly the mayan calendar waked it up. Nibiru is late to find Earth. Help Nibiru to complete its journey.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#514Humor2.39
#667Audio2.50
#727Graphics2.85
#755Mood2.76
#927Overall2.81
#948Theme2.60
#986Fun2.52
#1095Innovation2.28

Comments

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Tough game! The graphics really work well with the animation and the theme to set the silly tone of the game. it's difficult to tell which way you're facing when you're not moving but then I guess that's deliberate to encourage you to keep moving.

Didn't manage to find Earth but might try again later!

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice graphics. Sometimes it was difficult to know the direction of the planet. I liked the art style overall.

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Reminds me of Osmos. Great looking game, very fun.

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

I'm guessing if there is an end ? Or a good world ?

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Um... does Nibiru shoots the white stuff? If then it is not working on OSX.

OmegaVesko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Cute. :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Very fun once you get used to the controls.
Nice and difficult too, or maybe I was just too aggressive. Either way, nice job!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

I can smell Osmos inspiration, but great game. Keep it up!

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Not entirely sure what I was doing. But kept me entertained :P

nosfer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:23pm

simple, stardust/asteroids like steering, I like the *om*nom*nom* animation :P

TBSHRichard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Negative Points:

- Asteroids controls. I abhor the controls in Asteroids.
- Mayan calendar in the intro looks out of place.
- Idea of eating something smaller than you to get bigger is common.
- The background fooled me; I thought I was moving even though I wasn't.
- Planets appear out of nowhere. This was frustrating when they appeared right in front of the player. Would've been nice if they appeared off-screen.
- The destination is randomly placed, and can be difficult to find until you figure out to look at your distance. An arrow pointing to the destination would've been nice, so that the player could focus on dodging bullets instead of constantly looking back and forth between the character and distance.

Neutral Points:

. Even though the idea of eating smaller objects is common, it was nice that you decided to use that as ammunition.
. Gives the illusion of slower movement as you get bigger, even though you always move the same speed.

Positive Points:

+ Sounds weren't anything extraordinary, but they also didn't have the "nails on a chalkboard" effect. That's a success in my ears!
+ Graphics (aside from the Mayan calendar) were consistent throughout and looked nice.
+ Loved the twist at the end, adding humor to an otherwise grim situation.

Final Thoughts:

Overall, this was a pretty good game! Congratulations for finishing on time!

Inudenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09pm

I'm really happy with your feedback :') Thank you all!!
And keep trying to find Earth! hahahaha

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Good game! I kept dying all the time ;D

phi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Your idea works well, eating the other guys is a lot of fun. The sound effects could use some work, and the one hit kills are a bit frustrating, but as a first version, great work!

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45pm

very nice!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03am

Hi there. Liked the intro sequence. Game itself couldn't get far - LeftCtrl for shoot didn't seem to work (W8/Chrome), but movement and dodging missiles worked fine. Is that propulsion system inspired by South Park ?!

Inudenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11am

Hello mrexcessive. To shoot, you must first eat some planet. hahahaha, no, its not inspired by South Park. Thank you for your feedback. Try to find Earth!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:20pm

I didn't seem to be able to shoot.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Not entirely sure what I was doing... eating planets? Was surprised that I couldn't shoot at first when it said ctrl to shoot. Could us a bit more polish but good work for the time constraints of the compo!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]