Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Carrier Wave

by invader - Jam Entry

Up to 4 players can play using a single keyboard.

Conquest the galaxy by navigating your rectangle drone carrier - create connections between planets, capture entire worlds, mine fuel, produce drones and destroy the opponents.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#236Theme(Jam)3.48
#292Audio(Jam)3.27
#427Innovation(Jam)2.96
#639Mood(Jam)2.53
#646Overall(Jam)2.79
#668Graphics(Jam)2.56
#689Fun(Jam)2.38
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Controlls are really wierd, but that's okay.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

The controls while playing in a browser are not fun. windows keeps asking about sticky keys and alt keeps going to the browser. Nice game and fun to play. GJ.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:54pm

could just be me, having trouble understanding what I'm doing! Would like to play this again but with some mouse controls. :o

invader says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Thanks for the feedback - I realise the controls are pretty weird - It was intended to be a party game, so several people can play from one keyboard.

I can implement the mouse control in the future versions, but for the meanwhile you actually can control other players - not only the Blue one. WASDER control the Red one, HBNMJK - the Green one and P098-=O[ for the Orange one.
There is also alternative layout for the Red one and you can use <> instead of Alt/Shift/Enter.

BTW. You can pick one Rectangle Carrier you want to play and other will be taken over by AI in 45 seconds. And you can take over any AI player any time you want - just start controlling the carrier by appropriate keys.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:47am

Cool game! :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:17pm

nice, took some time to learn the controls, but after that it was quite enjoyable

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I was having some problems with controlling as well, I don't really understand what I am. :P It's pretty mesmerizing to look at though.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:13pm

I was sort of dropped into a level with no idea what I was supposed to be doing. I also don't understand how it relates to the theme of the jam.

BethhhB says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:46am

Could control either the blue or the red faction. Looked fun though. Liked the music!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:00am

I had a bit of trouble with the keyboard controls on my browser (Chrome latest, Windows) - kept wanting to open the settings menu. Seemed like it might be a pretty fun game from what I was able to assess!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:00am

PS: I really liked the music :)

Rialgar says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Alt is not a good key to use without preventDefault(), but JQuery user that you are you won't understand what that is.

Game started making fun once I started preventing default on all keyboard events and multiplied the time by 10. (Yes, I went into the Chrome Console and hacked the game to be faster)

invader says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:36pm

@Rialgar
Yep, I realise I missed that issue - the layout worked for me in linux and macos, but apparently there are problems with that - there are alternative layout, however, that allows you to play despite these shortcomings.

JQuery happened to be there by accident - it is just 300k of ballast, nothing more. I've used it one time - for document.ready - and could easily manage to do it in vanilla js.

The pace is definitely slow and it is a good idea to speedup it a little and provide time lapse feature for convenience - so nobody would have to hack it with debug console :)

udo says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Well done, this has potential. :)

Xanjos says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Pretty interesting idea. I actually like the use of having the AI take over for any inactive player.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nice strategy game. Nice calming music and minimalist graphics, I liked how you could easily see how many drones are orbiting the planet.
It is a bit slow, and the controls are a bit weird. I would suggest showing the controls for the red player as default instead of the controls for the blue player.
The AI taking over for inactive players is nice, but it always gets stranded on planets without any fuel.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]