Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bald-Faced SPACE TRUCKERS

by Axebane - Jam Entry

Start your career as a Space Trucker today! It's a tough job, but someone has to do it. Travel from space station to space station, transporting cargo to make a profit. Avoid hitting asteroids and other ships, and remember to keep your fuel tank full.

Downloadable version only, sorry. I cannot compile for the web until I purchase the professional version of GameMaker. Download size is less than 3 megabytes.

Have fun!!

CONTROLS:
Arrow Keys - move ship
Shift - hyper speed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#279Graphics(Jam)3.61
#287Humor(Jam)2.64
#340Overall(Jam)3.29
#343Mood(Jam)3.15
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#429Theme(Jam)3.06
#575Audio(Jam)2.28

Comments

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

Cool concept. :) Was hoping there'd be more resource-management dimensions or risk/reward dimensions. The pixel art had this great early-90's American feel.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

I like what you did with the different depths of meteors, stars, and ships. It was an interesting game.

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01am

Thank you for the feedback guys!

@Stepwise I had planned to include police ships, and allow the player to carry contraband items that would be more profitable with higher risk, but I just did not have enough time to implement it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:10am

I enjoyed this game a lot; Spent way too much of my youth playing SHMUPs. I really liked the variable movement of ships and asteroids.

maxrebo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Its a fun little game with cool graphics. Reminds me of Frontier: Elite II :-)

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07pm

really fun game, probabaly the one I've spent the most time playing :)

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44pm

#lonelyMac :(

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice game! I really like the art and the concept. I think if you shortened the game loop by having shorter trips and less hull life it would be a bit more engaging. Also, music next time :)

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00pm

This was a pleasant surprise. I wasn't sure what to expect. Thought it might be a generic space shooter, but it exceeded my expectations. Really like the concept of transporting goods for cash and having to repair the ship etc. Only issue for me was the long stretch between stations, which was a little tedious, and the absence of music. Otherwise, great work, man!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Nice game, I like old skool graphics :)
I wish there were some music and other missions than just travel.

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Thank you for all the feedback guys! Really really happy that the game is at least fun, even though I didn't get to do half of the features I wanted to.

@I had very little time to test the "pacing" and distance between stations. I'm glad I did make a last-minute change that offered more shorter trips, but it sounds like I need to tweak it even more. Had planned on recording some really simple music too, but I just didn't find the time.

Again, thanks for the feedback and the kind comments about my game everyone. I'm seriously considering working on it for a few more months and seeing if I can actually make a $5 or $10 game out of it. :O

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:39pm

It gets a bit boring after a while, but the art style and the idea are pretty cool.

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Great game. I like the different jobs to do and the simplicity of the concept. Nice controls too. What a mess up there.
Maybe a lack of features, but with 48h deadlines... Good job !

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:08am

Really fun game! That fleet of ships comes out of nowhere, love it.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10am

Nice game, I had ~100km to the next station ;p. Very difficult at times.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Well made game. Funny things happened when undocking without accepting job. Ship went to outside space and stopped. Then I could select job. It arrived to a dock station but when tried to dock it crashed causing damage. Ship continued and then I did the mission.

Axebane says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:26pm

@thecolorhacker Thank you for the bug report! I believe the issue is with a testing function that I forgot to remove before uploading. If you press Enter, the docking mechanics get messed up. It was for an early version of the undocking code that I wanted to test quickly, and forgot to take out, heh.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:09am

Incredible concept! The game looks like a shoot 'em up but plays very different, quite a neat idea! It's a 'management 'em up' !!! (sorry my bad joke xD)

I love the graphics too, kinda remember the pixel-art of 2D DOS games, really cool! =D

good job and sorry my bad english! ^^'

cstudios says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:49am

Very nice graphics and mechanics (with the transportation part). A galactic map would be lovely, where I decide where do i drop my goods (like in FTL). Some upgrade options would be nice.

But considering that this game was created in such a short time its great! Its actually a playable game with the feeling of finished product. Congrats.

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Really nice game :) ! I liked the hyper-speed mechanic. To my mind, it's a little bit too easy tough.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Really cool art design here! It does get a bit repetitive of course, but it's a very strong entry for the time limit. Well done!

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Really solid compo entry! I think you did a great job with the parallaxing of different game elements to create a sense of depth in the space. Most of my feedback would be about polishy things or extra feedback (like sound or different color flames on speed boost, ramp up in pacing, etc). Nice work!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Really nice story! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/02vIiZyi3-c

doomista says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Cool concept, but boring after a while. I definitely love the graphics :) Maybe some background music won't hurt

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]