Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ancient Eyebrows

by StrideWide - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Intruders from another world are invading.
Use the ancient power of your people to defend the village.
Destroy the intruders.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#38Humor3.79
#239Fun3.45
#272Mood3.33
#288Overall3.48
#446Audio2.86
#534Theme3.29
#546Innovation3.17
#583Graphics3.06

Comments

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47am

Very good! The graphics make me think of Jumling Flash from PSX for some reason (Not a bad thing). Fun game :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53am

I figured out the problem these creatures are having -- they need arms. It's no wonder they got slaughtered.

The game is amusing, but kind of difficult even once I figured out to hold the left arrow down to try to autotarget. I found a bug twice where if you get to the shrine, then leave it, then die (in the south part of the level), the down arrow doesn't work when you go back to the shrine and get the eyebrows again.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

Goofy and fun

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24am

Okay, this is great. I love how the first guy just drops dead with blood shooting out. Good controls, funny concept, and the game reminds me of the opening of half life 1 for some reason.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

So creepy without arms! I liked it, pace was pretty good and fit the story well. I think it broke after I died the first time (loved the slowmo death btw). The AI stopped chasing me after I died the first time and I wasn't able to switch between worlds. I think I died in the other world if that helps.

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Mali, that helps a lot. I fixed the game breaking bug (We are allowed to fix game breakers after submission). For the record the game thought you were still in the other world when respawning, so the enemies could not see you.

Question: Does the web player work for anyone else?

Jamcount says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36pm

That was really fun, thanks for the great experience.

-Jamcount;

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

The most violent I've ever been with eye brows

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

That... was positively weird. =)

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Never fought with eyebrows before. Nice game. The humanoids were really funny looking with a silly gate. I might have opted for making the controls a little easier, e.g. auto-target closest one. Else a nice entry.

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

@StrideWide: the web player worked for me. Nice game, I liked the cut-scenes and sounds ;) Autotargeting feels a bit weird - perhaps the keyboard controls could be placed differently.

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Nice game, just too hard for me ;).. Maybe I should get those eyebrows to be good in this game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42pm

This is amazing

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04pm

That was super weird. I laughed out loud as I collected the eyebrows. Great work!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27am

Great sounds effects, loads of silly, love the wide stride. Attacking seemed a little difficult at times.

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:39am

Lol, first time I fought with eyebrows :D.
Very fun game, a little bit difficult, I love the lowpoly style :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22am

This is by far my favorite entry I've played so far. :D I absolutely LOVE the idea of the Ancient Eyebrows, and the game itself just looks silly, in a good way. I also liked how you told a story while at the same time teaching the player the nature of the enemy's attack patterns. It's hard to move around and attack, which is kind of frustrating when you're trying to dodge the enemies jumping at you while still getting a hit on them. Over all, very nice game! :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

This was so cool. Never knew beating enemies with your eyebrows would be so fun. :D The audio was really nice, I'm a big fan of orchestral sound effects. ;) Great great great.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:53am

Slo mo death, nifty feature added in 2mins are what make a game good.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Ancient Eyebrows :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Very strange, but cool.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:11am

THe ancient eyebros! Thats really funny, at first is stressful but.. with powers its another thing

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:24am

This was excellent, really great job! I loved the main character's quirky walk animation and the unique sound effects. Good use of the theme as well.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:04am

nice game, i like it!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Hi there. I think maybe needs more clue that you must hunt for them before can fight! Once realised running was the way to go, it got a lot better... I daresay quite a few gave up before that... Love the slowmo on death. Great look and sounds too. Good job!

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Bad ass eyebrows. Don't mess with them... hahaha. that was pretty entertaining. Interesting game, and pretty smooth playing. Congrats on finishing.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Love the look of the main character! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bMx3RCVCht0

Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Well that was fucking creepy.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]