Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Islands

by Frugle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're stranded on a island. You have no idea how you get here.

Explore the world. Send messages to other people using a bottle and a scroll. Find messages of other people on shores. There are 7 guestbooks you can sign.

There are 5 different islands in total but they are very far away from each other and I didn't have time to add a boat.

http://twitter.com/Fruglee

* HOW TO PLAY *

WASD to move. Right click to open context menu on items. Left click to select option on context menu.

How to sign guestbooks
1. Find a guestbook and view it
2. Click the text box to type your name
3. Press sign button

How to send messages to other people:
1. View scroll
2. Click text boxes to type text
3. Combine a bottle and the scroll
4. Go to sea and send the bottle

* SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS *

Anything better than a potato.

Requires .NET 4.5. If you have Windows 8 or newer you already have it.
If you have Windows 7 you might have gotten it from Windows Update.

If you're not sure, download it from here:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653

Linux version is tested with Arch Linux 64-bit using Mono 3.4.0.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#291Theme3.61
#360Innovation3.42
#690Mood2.83
#847Overall2.92
#994Fun2.50
#1144Graphics2.04
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

kbjwes77 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15am

Explored very far. Huge map.

Interesting concept, would have played longer if more people had played. Found this on Reddit by the way.

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13pm

I like that you took the them and connected everyone together using the guest book. Even though it's rather basic with a little bit of dazzle (animations, the whole jazz) could be pretty fun.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I signed the guestbook, sent some bottles documenting Mr. Potato's adventure, and looked for potatos. I did not find any :(. I like how you can send messages and other people can find them. Nice work.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09am

The whole guestbook and MMO type elements were really cool! I got lost in a cave that was so massive I couldn't find my way out. Lots of dead ends!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:26am

I like the concept, but there just isn't enough to do. It reminds me of the graffiti in dark souls, but those were only interesting because they were referring to a shared experience. If there were more interesting things to find, even just clothes to decorate your avatar with, it would be a lot more engaging.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Now that was a big world. You've put a lot of effort in it to get it done in 48 hours.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Good use of connecting. Graphics looked nice but could have used animation. Also could have used sound.
The idea is good, and with more work I can see this being fun to play. More stuff to find, slightly quicker travel, etc would make this a great game.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:24am

Sadly I can't play. It doesn't seem to want to run on my version of mono, and I can't upgrade to >=3 since I'm on an old version of Ubuntu. Oh well. :P

Buttsteam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Enjoyed it. Could have used some audio though!

romandtom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Nice concept, but didn't get too far, the game crushed suddenly.
It could be better if it'll be more clear what you should do, and if there was sounds.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]