Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WARBLE WORLDS

by pjimmy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first attempt at a 48h(more like 10h) game, huzza! All code from scratch. There be bugs. No sound.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#716Theme3.03
#860Humor1.84
#981Audio1.50
#1005Innovation2.47
#1029Graphics2.30
#1055Mood2.20
#1157Fun2.02
#1176Overall2.30

Comments

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

I'm not quite sure what is going on. Also sometimes the character doesn't move other times it does, and sometimes both teleports dont work other times it does. it looks like it could grow to become a good game

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

Interesting concept. Maybe it can be explored further. Is it just my browser or do you have to wait for a second before the character really moves forward? Played this on Linux.

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58am

For this being your fist ludum dare, it's good enough (There's quite a lot of code and artwork done).I noticed there's the keyboard induces movement problem: "you have to wait for a second before the character really moves forward".

This is because you receive the input from the keyboard directly, for example, when I press the key 'a', I get: aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
But, between the first and the second 'a' there's a second of time wait. That's what happens in your game. There's a number of different solutions for you to try out.

Otherwise, well done. A Ludum dare is not easy, and I'm sure you'll do great in your next Ludum dares!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

@MrCakehat @bvanschooten @Agecaf thanks for the feedback ;) this is a good example of why we should have a premade framework before the challenge, which was not my case, therefore is rough and buggy. I was considering adding foes and more levels but time constraints didn't allow for that. I'm already working on a new version of the game.
@Agecaf thanks for the tips ;) I'll definitly be more prepared next time

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Congratulations on first Ludum Dare!

Concept is nice, you should try fixing all the collisions/movement stuff to be prepared for the next LD :)

colludium says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Interesting idea. The movement was a bit hesitant and it wasn't clear what to do.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Pretty cool game, is the goal to get all of the orange marbles to the orange world and blue to the blue world? Because if so, how do you get the very first marble, in a corner, to the other world, as the space is occupied by another marble and you cannot move it?

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:43pm

@dungeonsoffear yes, that marble shouldn't be there, but with the game in its current state you can actually move that marble out of the way. I'll let you find out for yourself :P

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Just played the game in Windows XP 32-bit using Chrome and the lag between key press and start walking is pretty noticeable there, and very frustrating ARGH :( I might aswell just rewrite the whole game using a decent framework like phaser for the post-compo version. Do you guys have recommendations on other free and open frameworks for html5/js game development?

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24am

I think I've one, but now I'm blinked blind :)

Nice idea, but boy is the collision code bugged. That would be the first to clean up.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Hi there. Thanks for rating my game. I couldn't get the marbles to do anything (Chrome/W8). Could move okay but not get out of small starting area. Shame, 'cos it looks like it has promise.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

@mrexcessive you couldn't teleport between worlds?

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Graphics are low-res. That could just be my computer monitor though...

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Was unsure of the objective of the game. As mentioned above the movements were rough, and changing worlds only seemed to work half the time. Overall nice concept that fits the theme well!

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:20am

Cute graphics but I could only teleport myself. (No teleporting of marbles.) Not sure what else there is to do or what my goal is, but i think you have a good start to go play with it and figure out what people find fun. I liked the connected mazes in 2 worlds.

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

The movements are little bit buggy and lack of smoothness.
The gameplay idea is good, but it takes a bit of time to grasp why marbles or the character can't be teleported.
Maybe some visual indicators could help (marks on the floor where there are walls on the other dimension for example).
Or maybe a visual representation of the other dimension could help ? (a mini-map for example, or a semi-transparent layout on top of the screen you can switch on and off)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:40pm

@alpha_rat that's a great idea, I'm thinking in cover up the other world with a very low alpha when the teleport keys are pressed. The mini-map would also be an interesting addition. Thanks for the tips ;)

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:56pm

May your next LD be better =). Every thing begins with a small step =)

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Has a lot of promise. Once you get the concept and manage to figure out the control quirks, it's not so bad really. I think some description of the game before starting would go a long way towards improving people's perception. I still have no idea what to do with the marbles in the starting room. :)

torvik88 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:28am

Hate to repeat what others already have said, but this being your first LD, i congratulate you for the great work you have done. Keep working on those bus and sound cause the game concept is solid and it could be very fun.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:09pm

it's good for a first entry, I managed to teleport all the marbles, but to teleport the first one I hade to do some glitchcraft ;)

mess110 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

cool idea. looking forward to the next entry, you have potential. just take into account the feedback you received :D

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

For a first entry it is a really good!
Look like a game.
Maybe more juice things, a clear objective and Explain what I need to do, would make this game better!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:26pm

On the plus side, your graphics are clear and far better than anything I can do and the game idea looks very interesting.

We've all had Ludum Dares that we haven't quite finished (my first one in LD14 was particularly embarrassing).

I think the instructions could have been a bit clearer. However, carry on and please keep making games. It gets easier the more you do it.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:15pm

thanks again for all the feedback ;) i'm remaking the game with the aid of phaser.js and getting to know this framework. So far all your comments are being very useful. I thought the blue box on the right would be short and clear enough for anyone to understand, it seems now that I was squarely wrong :S

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Good result for a first attempt and 10 hours work! Audio would be a great addition, and the controls could work more smoothly. Good effort!

mechabit says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:30am

well done on getting a game in, nice pixel art

jpverkamp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Not bad for 10 hours. Couldn't quite figure out what the point was (could have used more of an example / instructions) and controls were sluggish (especially when changing directions), but it's fairly pretty!

Kyatric says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I can't rate this game, I think it is buggy, or something.
At start I'm in a sort of closed room with a blue circle.

I can move around with the "lag" of the inputs other comments already noted. But pressing "A" or "S" just does nothing (Actually 'S' makes the character face me, but otherwise it just stays where it is) and I can't seem to get out of the room.

Tested in Firefox and Chrome on windows 7.

I'm sorry I feel like I can't play the game as it is intended.

To answer your question about engine/frameworks, you can try out Construct 2's free version.

Let me know if I'm missing something so I can play and rate with a fair playthrough.

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:19pm

@Kyatric I only tested this game in OpenSUSE 13.1 64bits and the input lag here is not so noticeable, at least in my machine. After the upload, I played in Windows 7 64bits + chrome and the lag is very noticeable. Sometimes you can't teleport (or the marbles) because that place is already occupied by another object in the other world, the problem is that there's no feedback that gives you this information, like a minimap, a very noobish design flaw.
I'm sorry if it feels frustrating and unplayable, but that is the compo upload and the one that is up for rating, so if you can't play I understand why you won't rate.
I'll will try Construct 2 someday, but for now I'm using phaser.js, and I'm very happy with it, controls and collision detection is way way smoother, and other juicy things are already being added ;)

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:25am

My browser dont work very well with this entry. I use chrome. But looks very good

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:48am

Took me a while to figure out i could push the marbles, but the "teleport marble" button worked and everything made sense. Good Work!

gnx says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Props for you on making the engine from scratch. Movement feels very weird as the startup to the character actually moving is quite lengthy. One also gets very easily stuck in walls (you can also traverse within walls I noticed).

However the art is nice and building this from scratch is no small effort. I'm sure you learned a lot :)

ZYXer says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:48pm

It took me some time to understand what I had to do. I first thought that I had to use the blue bubbles as teleporters to the blue world, and the orange bubbles to the orange world and then find an exit.

But once I figured it out, I really liked the game concept. It would be nice if there was more feedback when you can't teleport (though I like the frowny face). The controls are a bit glitchy, but apart from that it is quite a fun game.

Congratulations on you first LD game!

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:05pm

The idea could turn out quite well, but is is quite difficult to control the character. I think it would have been better with smaller levels that fit in one screen, so you can see where you can or cannot go.
Nice try, though.

Sestren says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:13am

That game was quite glitchy, but once you figure out what you're supposed to do and get the feel for it, it's a neat idea and kind of fun. Good job.

dokidoki says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Personally I used cocos2d-js, but there are a lot out there. http://html5gameengine.com/
I like that LD doesn't dictate or provide an engine, so people can use what they're familiar with.
Anyway, congratulations on finishing your first LD! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]