Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Saman

by koalamo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Saman is a combination of classic arcade inspiration (donkey kong/frogger/etc.) and an incremental game.

The game revolves around two worlds, who are distinctly unaware of one another, but effect the other in substantial ways.


//Summary
In Saman, a creature lurks underground - a creature who has been taught that the sacred gems can save him from those that would do him harm. Alternatively, another world exists. One where a carefree creature of the light follows a road outside of his home, finding valuable gems which are known to appear from the ground.


//Gameplay
You control an underground creature, while simultaneously you are responsible for capturing and farming the gems that he supplies to those above ground. The rook is too brittle to do harm to anyone, but can blend into the earth with great expertise, and looks for the gem-hungry gods to do his bidding for him, assuming he doesn't get in the way.


//Technical
The game was created using Gamemaker Studio and the art using Adobe Flash. Sound effects generated through http://www.bfxr.net/ and music generated through wolfram tones @ tones.wolfram.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#126Graphics3.93
#242Mood3.38
#297Innovation3.50
#339Theme3.54
#360Audio3.04
#367Humor2.65
#372Overall3.39
#534Fun3.07

Comments

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

The web version isn't loading for me, and chrome flags your EXE as malicious, so it was automatically deleted when I tried to download it.

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48am

Web version is not loading. Any other place where I can play the game online?

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

@AndyBrown I think there is a conflict with the newest version of chrome and the GMS HTML5 exports - I can get it to work in firefox but not Chrome. Unfortunately I don't have a work around right now besides downloading the full HD version.

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Ok I think I may have fixed the chrome issue - it may run poorly on slower machines though.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13pm

The character reminds me of Tweek from South Park. There's a bug where you move 2x faster if you hold both A and LeftArrow for example.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Neat game. The art is nice, the song felt odd.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Nice graphics and different gameplay concept, which is always plus.

(By the way, the web version made Firefox crash on my PC.)

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28pm

The gameplay is fun. I like the graphics underground, especially the panic look on the player/creature. The overworld doesn't look as nice. I'm missing sound effects and I don't really like the background music.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Fun to play, the boulders and bats won't stop coming! It's so difficult but loads of fun!

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Thanks for all the feedback so far!

For those commenting on the music, it was sudo-randomly generated (with some tweaking) from tones.wolfram.com. The sound effects in general are what I'm least proud of (which inspired me to make the mute button on the top right). In addition, the sound may have additional issues (other than just being bad) on the web version.

@Lysznie - Make sure you're utilizing your burrow(SPACE) ability to avoid boulders! While burrowed you are invulnerable to the bludgers (purple things) and boulders, but the bats things can still get you while burrowed. My second regret is not making better directions :)

dunin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55pm

it seems fun but too hard for me, too many things to do...

Budaniel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

It took me some fiddling to figure out exactly what I was supposed to do, but once I did, it's a pretty addictive little game.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Learning Curve too steep for me personally but I worked at it and enjoyed it. Looks good too!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Now that the controls and guide is up, this is much more playable. Sound is solid, art is great, overall a fun little thing, tho it gets a bit monotonous for me.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I think this game makes great use of the theme, but was having trouble getting the controls to work 100% of the time (or maybe i just didn't understand them)

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Good use of the theme. Innovative game play. Well done!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

The web version worked for me now. That was really fun! I died a lot from those flying things, but once I got used to where the gems were thrown from they became a lot easier to deal with. I like how it tied in with the theme, great job!

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Nice mecanic, cute visual and the web version works great, nice entry, the only bad is we have to read the tuto, an image at the start explaining the control and goal will be nice, anyway nice entry ! :)

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Nice visual style and great animations. Nice game too. Audio didn't really match with the rest of the game.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:56pm

What a cool game! Great mood and fun

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:47am

Pretty relaxing (:
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]