Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Press space to start

by thecolorhacker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help people in different worlds achieve their goals and avoid stupidity... it involves playing with up to 9 characters at the same time.

For real oldschool fun, try the Windows (Compo version).

Post compo version is modified to be easier to control. Collisions with walls and momentum softened. Puzzles aren't much more easy to solve though.

(Update)A new HTML5 version is available, which has slightly modified controls (minimum changes in a pair of variables). There is a new room, that has to do with bridges, that should not be rated and can be skipped pressing N. Rest of the game is identical to original, and I believe it can be rated without trouble.

After rating many games, I see that a lot of them share something very important with mine..."Press space to start"

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#339Theme3.54
#350Innovation3.43
#454Overall3.30
#494Mood3.06
#565Humor2.31
#633Fun2.96
#862Graphics2.61
#933Audio1.77

Comments

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Very good game but also very buggy..The collision checking isn't great..I always die because I'm too near the wall but I'm not even close to touch it..
But still liked the introduction and the text in the level and the design of the game.. With a soundtrack and a bit more precise collision could be 5/5.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Pretty cool, liked the idea. The mechanics that went along with it kept me interested. The last level was pretty frustrating though, took me like 7 tries. Good job though.

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Cool mechanic, good execution. I'd like less momentum on movement, but it's still fun. Could use some audio, but still fun game.

sai_aya says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Very nice game !

I love the story, and the mechanics, despite being simple, are efficient and nicely implemented.
It may have been better with some audio, though.
The last level was indeed frustrating !

Good job !

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Thanks for the comments. I had little time to make levels, so I tried to make the last level so difficult that kept people trying for some time.

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Nice game, I really like how it plays :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Awesome! Really, really cool concept. Although a little tough to controls with the momentum and stuff.
I beat the last level by creating a single, combined map with all the walls relative to the players on paper, making it easier to figure out the possible paths and in which order to proceed. Took me quite a while, but I made it eventually. :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06am

When I was designing last level, I filled all the world grids with sprites, so I knew if there were a valid space or a hole. It was tricky, though, because I wanted to open new roads only when one of the character finished, without that meaning opening too many roads.
About momentum, it was something that was ok in some levels, while in others was a little bit annoying. But I liked the extra difficulty that provided and I had no time to think too much.

abayb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56pm

As a game, it was great, but it could have used some audio and maybe some more interesting graphics. The gameplay was really cool and innovative though.

Tommislav says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:14am

Clevel puzzles! Found myself enjoying the game a lot. However I cannot stop seeing the guy as the windows logo, and thus - in my head - the story became about Microsoft =D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:14am

Tough game, really cool mechanic though. I understand why the movement is a little loose, but I still think it could've been tighter.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:16am

Made it quite far, I think, but the unforgiving nature of it deterred me. Fun idea, but I don't think the controls fit the game very well. Story seemed cool, but didn't get to finish it.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Trick to avoid momentum is to press buttons very softly and release near danger. To see the story, press N to go forward(cheat mode, don't tell anyone) and M to go back...

neosam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Good idea! Just one hint: The collision detection could be bit more tolerant.

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:32pm

The texts were motivating, and the gameplay is pretty original, I have yet to see such a game :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I'll reduce the boundary box for the main character, a little less momentum, and re-upload as soon as possible as a post compo. Perhaps add music too :D

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Original and fun, but very difficult

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:23am

Tough and precise. I like it.

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:44am

#lonelyMac

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:59am

I loved the presentation of the text and the storyline. You could have more control over when you stop instead of decelerating. I ended up tapping the arrow keys to move with more control.

The last level was pretty challenging but rewarding once solved.

Great work overall, extremely innovative and theme fitting!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I got no mac to try the game. When I tried to port it to html5, funny things happened. If anyone wants to make a port to mac with game maker studio, please send me a msg and the finished work and I will update it.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I love the idea and the mechanics and the narrative, but the imprecise accelerative controls were way too frustrating when a tiny movement can cause you to die

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:31am

Interesting idea and good story but very difficult. Much to slippery for the type of game it is. Also the gray colour of the background looked like default room colour to me which just gives me a bad feeling usually...

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:26am

This game is hard. But the concept is original and it is very interesting. I enjoyed figuring out the best way to beat each level. Would have been great to have some music in the background though. Otherwise great effort

Dohan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Hard, but very nice idea. The story reminds me a bit of 'Thomas was alone'.

mipi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:04pm

"Only thing odd for me were the drawings or photos of the guns."
Reply: Try my Post-Compo2 version, you'll definitely then understand why there were guns in there.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Note: mipi quoted my comment on his game. This game has no guns.

mipi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Very cool game you got here! Also thanks for taking a closer look into my game.

reheated says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Fun, with unique gameplay. I really enjoyed the last level, it was much more "puzzly" than the rest.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice idea and challenging puzzles, but please, next time add a non-installer version to be downloaded!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:43pm

<JNyknn> I'll learn how to for next time...I know there are 2.5k entries...since game maker changed to studio and compiled games into installers I don't know how to put them into a single .exe file

howkj1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:49am

@thecolorhacker about Jacob's Ladder :

... not a spoiler... :) ... climb those stairs! :D
(and thanks for playing)

Jacob's Ladder:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=41421

Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Good puzzle. Well made and very challenging.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Cant play windows games... can I get a web ver?

Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:00pm

@jomomomo
I am really sorry.I tried to make a html5 version and funny things happened. If you have Game Maker Studio you can try compile the source in your OS. I'll try to make a version before judging ends...

Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I love the metaphor in this. Nice puzzle concept. The last level was soo hard.

bluesky says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Nice game Love the gameplay.

chowee says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Very good entry! The puzzles are well put together and challenging !

t4u says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I wanted to run it but my PC said no :( Why dont you make it available in web version?

Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Now I know one of the reasons for the game to compile in HTML5 wrongly is that I have to dismiss all alarms in code(ufff). And I also believe my problems with graphics may have something to do with using vector graphics for the main character...I'll try again

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]