Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Solar Buddies

by BunkeyInteractive - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Solar Buddies is a game where you, controlling the 8 main planets, must dodge meteors, and collect stars to replenish your energy.

P.S. The game is quite hard, and it takes a bit of practice to get used to the controls. Since the game is so short, I would appreciate a few play-throughs before you decide on your rating :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#166Audio3.43
#226Humor2.95
#242Mood3.38
#277Graphics3.56
#505Theme3.33
#613Overall3.16
#633Fun2.96
#713Innovation2.96
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I couldn't get the mac build to run. Not sure why :/

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Try web. I don't have a mac, so I couldn't tell for sure if the mac build worked ;)

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Damn hard :) Flappy planets

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Wow! I enjoyed the game. Nice idea!

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Attempt 1: What the? This game is surely impossible!
Attempt 5: Ahh, I get it! Hey, this is pretty cool, 300 points!
Attempt 20: This is awesome!

Cool game, it's nice to see a completely unconventional control scheme!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Dasinger started it off, I would appreciate if everyone could post their scores! I want to see who can get the highest! :D

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Very nice! Extremely difficult though! I enjoyed this. Well done.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17pm

very unique controls! I liked it, hard though! Id say let there be more hits before game over

alangamebot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Yeah, this is super hard. I like the juxtaposition (ooh fancy word) between the cutesy graphics and chill music and the crushing hard difficulty. Its not everyday you see someone make a game using the number keys only. Pretty interesting.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

haha, nice game :P

but since you make use 4 of fingers on the keyboard, please implement a way to restart with keyboard and will play a lot more.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Really, really awesome advice, comments, and suggestions guys :)

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

That was nice, I really liked the game, although it was very hard for me. Maybe in the beginning there should only be energy boosts. Also if a planet gets hit, it could just explode and the game could go on until there's no planet left.

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I think numbers on planets could make it less difficult for those who came for fun. Anyway, I like it. :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I like the game's art and music, but I found it really hard to judge where the rocks were coming from and press the corresponding button, even after several runs

Capitals says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Hard... but good!

I did find that I didn't have enough time to adjust my fingers before I had to press the buttons down.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Crash on mac in the menu when i click on about ( web version ) else as you say its quite hard !

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

There is no way to say what planet will be hit next, extremely difficult. Played many times, but can't past 1000 points. Need way to restart without mouse - 8 of my fingers are already on keyboard. Graphic and music are fantastic, but didn't have time to admire it because of asteroids. Great game, be "Flappy planets" :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27pm

I totally agree @MintArcade. Those points you mentioned were the my prime issues when I was finished. This was my first LD, so I'm happy regardless :)

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06pm

This is a cool game. The way I play though, my planets look pretty dorky jumping in groups! Fun game with the right amount of challenge. Good job!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:11am

Interesting idea. It would be great to implement some kind of quick restart key, since your all fingers are on the keyboard, I'm too lazy to grab the mouse every time i die.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Just a heads up, I don't believe you can use music you didn't make in the 48 hour compo.

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Nice game, congrats!

Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Not bad ! The music was catchy and all. But you should really tell the controls right away, it would be more practical for the player than searching in the menus for some clues.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]