Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Twins

by Kojan - Jam Entry

Hello everyone !
We are a little proud to introduce you our first Ludum Dare game ! We are two young boys (17 and 16) who did this for fun and to test our knowledge in C++ and in the graphic library we used : SFML.
It took us around 30 hours combined and it was hella fun !

I hope you enjoy playing our game, it is meant to be quick and fun. However it requires a LOT of coordinations and might be hard to play on your first game. But do not give up and try again !!!

The last screenshot is the "How to play" screen, and this with the screenshots should be pretty explicit on the game features and the gameplay

If you liked our game and you've tried your best to achieve a great score, let us know what's your best score in the comments :)

Have fun, thank you in advance for testing our game, rating it and giving us critism !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#242Fun(Jam)3.28
#249Theme(Jam)3.45
#259Mood(Jam)3.32
#284Audio(Jam)3.29
#354Innovation(Jam)3.10
#387Overall(Jam)3.22
#437Humor(Jam)2.30
#600Graphics(Jam)2.84

Comments

xioxy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45am

Amazing! Greate ! This game is very good , because it's simple
and fun !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

1400 points. I liked the game, lot of fun, it is a mess even with only three buttons. Well done!!

VEloc1tY says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:57am

The A and D controls aren't very intuitive, perhaps W and S( or Up and Down arrow) would have been better to play with. Anyway, it's a hard game, but I dig it.

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58am

Nice idea, really hard to get the controls controlled.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58am

nice entry ovferall, but a bit too hard in my opinion!

MrJavaFrank says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Nice idea, after a while the controls were ok, but as one of my precursor said, not quite intuitive. I really like the background music, and the graphics, except for the player, which looks really strange, but that makes it also a bit funny.

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

The music is good.
Really hard sidescroller.
This side switching is really confusing expescially when pressured for time!

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I was failing very hard, but it is awesome. I think you could make an android/ios port and monetize it.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:11pm

That was a lot harder than I'd have thought :)

EthanWebster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:08pm

I really enjoyed this game! Well done :)

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:35pm

I got 1300 points, I gave up in the end, I'm not great with having to do two things at once XD but a great little game, well done!

Ramiel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Very cool game.
Alone its quite hard. With a second player its a bit easier but not less fun. ;)
I also really like the music.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:10pm

This was pretty fun, maybe a bit too difficult. Maybe using a different control scheme would have worked better, I keep thinking of space to jump so kept switching characters instead. Got only 1200 :(

Good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:07am

Great, simple concept. But a bit challenging.

Fera says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:50am

very good idea!
but its harder than flappy bird. :D

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Congratulations on your first LD game, and for finishing it in time! :D Trying to coordinate both characters really confused me, so I could only score 900. I really like the music, too. Good job!

someone says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Tricky game, the choice of keys could be better.
I think it would be helpful if the characters had different designs, I kept forgetting which was which.
I got to 2400

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Something I found is that I always try to jump with space.

kidando says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:08am

This was an interesting concept. :). Fresh idea. But all that switch hurt my brain. Awesome stuff!!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Amazing game! Very hard but interesting concept and nice music. I scored 3900.

sikosis says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:26am

I got an error saying libgcc)s)sjlj-1.dll was missing.

Kojan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:13pm

It's weird, you are the only one who got this error, did you try with the .exe or the setup ?
You can just try the other maybe

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:06pm

A really solid core, if kinda fiddly to play. It feels a bit unfair that you die even if you touch the top of the box, but such is the nature of twitchy action games, I guess.

Buttsteam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Great game!

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:32pm

It took some time for me to get a handle with the controls.
A lot of coordination involved, but at least there are times where I can both duck and jump simultaneously. I prefer different keys than the one already in the game to get a better sense of control because I often press the wrong key.
Great game overall!

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:54am

Neat game. It definitely starts getting tricky when the obstacles begin showing up out of synch with each other. :)
I like the epic string ostinato. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]