Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

LudumShudum

by oogaboogacaveman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A top down dual stick (mouse and keyboard) shooter in which you must travel and fire through a portal to hit enemies with the correct color bullets. How long can you survive?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Fun3.59
#259Innovation3.55
#596Overall3.17
#657Mood2.87
#774Theme2.91
#1088Graphics2.18
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

Interesting idea - reminded me a lot of the color switching in Ikaruga.

Beard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

I enjoyed it way more then I thought I was going to. I like the concept, and found it to offer game play that was unique enough to hold my attention.

stimpact says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:46am

Fun mechanic :) Way to think outside the box, while remaining inside it ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

This was great

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:58pm

That's a very cool little idea, I like it.

Bernte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Pretty tough to me, but actually nice idea. Could have had some music to it, and maybe some cool updates in shooting power?

Eli says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:31am

Nice game. And it's tough!

foolmoron says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:04am

Really like the idea here. Shooting through the center to change the bullet color is awesome and unique. Wish the presentation was nicer though.

runvs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:10am

Nice Idea and the concept works really well. You could have done some Audio Effects which would have boosted immerion and mood. Other than that such an arcade game could benefit a lot of juice. Wobbling Walls, bouncy Enemies, particle effects, ...
Though it is a great & challenging game!

malf says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:22am

Fun game, very difficult but enjoyable

smizmeal says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:11am

Good and fun central mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]