Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Silent Sky

by GeeItSomeLaldy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry and it's been an experience. Especially since I actually want to kind of polish this game up now.

What is the game? Well, it's basically FTL combined with Oregon Trail. You have to reach your destination without killing everyone or pissing everyone off and being thrown out an airlock.

You can play it at normal speed, or fast speed. Or, if you're completely insane, you can play it in real time. If you want to spend 42 real days playing a game. Go right ahead.

There are a few known bugs but none that I know of that are game breaking. Some UI elements are out of position on Larger resolutions, there are plenty of typos. More than one superfluous apostrophe and a few Americanised spellings of things. (That's not a dig, I just want to try and be consistent, and someone *will* bring it up :P )

The engine used was the Unity engine. I decided to use the 4.6 Beta engine to put it through its paces. It did quite well, but some of the new UI stuff needs a bit of polish.

I've included, and tested the Windows version. I do not have time to test it on OSX or Linux just yet.

If there are any unknown bugs, do let me know :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#407Humor2.55
#523Mood3.03
#704Theme3.05
#853Audio2.10
#890Overall2.86
#913Graphics2.52
#914Innovation2.67
#1003Fun2.49

Comments

donut345 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

I like the mood , would be cool if you could see the ship

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice concept, mauch work put in here.

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Nice idea. Would love to see it explained why I'm supposed to go to one planet instead over another ;)
I've had some blinking GUI issues too.

Ben Lehman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Neat concept. Unity Version seems stuck on "real time" speed which makes the game unplayable. T_T

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Interesting idea, but UI is way too messy

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36pm

i love to play that kind of game. Just needs to have more content. Free market ftw ;)

Dohan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Very cool idea. I really like how the people relax when you throw their leaders through the airlock XD

gnerkus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27am

This game has a lot of content! I'm going to put more time into it when voting is over.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Fun game! Reminds me of Oregon Trail in space. You put a lot of content into this! Could use more polish but overall, well done.

vico87 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

This is a good game.

I have a question though: Is it possible to refill at a station somewhere along the journey?

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:39am

@vico87 it was planned, but I had to cut it for time. When I finish the game stopping at stations will cause an event that'll likely drop one of your bars to zero.

arzi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:29pm

There should be more games with these kind of text & choice -based random elements ;) I think the game is quite well done and ambitious for an LD game, and overall very well done.

I also used Unity 4.6, and found it quite capable on the UI side.

bobombe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:03am

I did not get the goal of the game, event at the end ...

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:10am

It's really cool, but it needs more situations. I got 5 or 6 problem with traders before getting anything else!

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice game, played all the way through, got a bit repetetive at the end and felt like a lot of the decisions had no real consequence apart from just numbers and bars going up and down, which they themselves seemed to have little effect. But the journey was fun and got tense near the end as most of my passengers had died.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Those traders are evil, money-grabbing pigs.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:55am

I am playing it real time, heading to Uranus. See you in 28 days!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:04am

@jukimv1986 - but the voting ends in 14 days! How will you ever make it in time!

ajopart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice work

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]