Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Translation Points

by quadtree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Translation Points is a game where you must defeat your enemies, collect gems (and other things) with only the ability to move and create "Translation Points" that connect your world to one of the two neighboring ones. Controls are listed in-game, and can be seen at any time by pressing the "H" key.

A recent version of Firefox or Chrome is recommended for the HTML5 version. It seems to run best on Chrome. The JAR has been tested with a Java 8 JRE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#436Innovation3.31
#440Mood3.13
#444Theme3.40
#594Audio2.65
#666Overall3.10
#747Graphics2.81
#776Humor2.00
#830Fun2.72

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13am

Really nice game! Catchy!

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40am

I really liked this one! I am surprised about the few comments! Liked the minimal style, the concept was really clever, too. Took me a while to get used to the controls but totally worth it. Great job!

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:08pm

There's something strange with the controls, but overall I enjoy it. Good work!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Is there a win screen? I've been playing for awhile now - took me a long time to realize returning to the mothership would recharge your health. I've gotten the engine back several times now where it looks like it's been plugged back in, but then after 10sec or so a bad guy comes and steals it again and the game just seems to go on and on.

Saphyre says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:31am

Nice graphics and controls. You added a story, and that's definitely cool. The game isn't clear enough, though. Nice work !

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:45am

It's to difficult!
Nice idea, good use of Asteroids!
Really nice...
But the objective is difficult and confused.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:29am

I finally got rid of the guys that were stealing the engine. The game was really cool except for that frustrating bit where enemies steal the engine over and over.

plash says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:53pm

This game is hard to follow.

A few issues in particular:

- Apart from counting translations relative to the mothership world (which is easy to lose track of), there's no way to tell where you are. It also seems like the thief ship can make a translation point to any world, thereby increasing the difficulty of tracking it down.

- The text is poorly positioned. It is very difficult to read, and some of the timing is too quick in the beginning.

- The control scheme is unusual. I should not have to use both the mouse and the keyboard to control the ship. Direction becomes useless; the only thing you can realistically do is move forward.

- The player can get stuck in a translation point -- moving between the two worlds repeatedly until the translation point decays -- rather easily.

Crosstales says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Nice, difficult game!
The objective was a bit unclear but well done!

Lythom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Hi ! I agree with hoyt hoy and plash feedbacks. I'd add that to improve the game the most important thing to do, imo, is help the player get a proper orientation in the game universe. Which worlds are accessible from where the ship currently is and where in the world the ship is are unclear information. In the mothership world it's ok thanks to the purple triangle and distance, a similar indicator would help in other worlds.

Thanks for the game !

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:33pm

The mechanics of the game were a bit hard to follow at first, but after a bit of tinkering there were some lovely discoveries and surprises in there!

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:35am

interesting quite hard to understand but nice idea, Great Job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]