Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pretty Pastel Squares

by martindilling - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Destroy all the pastel squares, but watch out for the dangerous ones :)
Switch colors to get the right ones, and die from the wrong ones ;)
You are only destroying and dying from squares in the same color as the ball.

* Controls:
* Arrow keys - Move
* Space - Switch mode/world/dimension/whatever you call it ;)

Status:
Didn't get screen switching to work in time, so sadly there is only one level, and no menu, pause or gameover screens :(
Used way to much time on the collision detection, and even now it can bug a little :(
But overall I'm satisfied with the result, I learned a lot of Java which I've wanted to look at for a long time, and I've made my first game :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Graphics3.94
#495Innovation3.25
#829Overall2.94
#904Fun2.63
#965Theme2.56
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

duncankeller says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

Sadly the collision did glitch on me. I find the game to be a bit tedious, but the visuals and the color palette are very nice. For a first game, it's great, good work!

martindilling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:04am

duncankeller, think I spend ~10 hours on the collision, and it still f**** up sometimes xD but thanks :P

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

Intresting concept that would make a fun mobile game, although it lacks audio, The game is fun.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25pm

It has some bugs, that makes difficult to play, but good concept.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:58am

Really did like the graphics, those are some pretty squares. The game itself is very simple yet still challenging enough to keep my interest. Good work!

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

I like the game. I think this level is a bit mechanic dense, which makes it frustrating. You have the dangerous boxes, the dimension switching the fact that the dangerous boxes aren't static (I think they should have been), it is all introduced into this crystal of a level.

If the mechanics were introduced one by one, and this was the last level in the game, I think it would be stronger.

But this level really is a gem.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

It's quite frustrating the you have to start again from the beginning after one little mistake.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Rather cute graphics, but the gameplay gets bothersome after a while, especially if you lose your guard or encounter a collision bug and have to start all over again. >.<

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:09pm

For this being your first finished game, it is quite impressive! It's quite impressive regardless for being made in 48 hours! The art is solid, I think the concept is great and you executed it very well.

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:46pm

is ok but it should be faster gj anyway : )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]