Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gargoyle Abyss

by imaginarymonsters - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare! Help your gargoyle friend escape the abyss. I've been teaching myself Game Maker for a few months and built Gargoyle Abyss off of an existing engine I have in progress.

Gargoyle Abyss seems to run most stable in Safari (only tested on os x so far).

Mike Turzanski made the music in this game. You should check out the Soundcloud for his band Drippers!
https://soundcloud.com/solidgoldhuman

I would love to spend more time working on Gargoyle Abyss. Some known things I would change and room for expansion:

- The game is super short. I wanted to have portals connecting to different themed worlds. Even simple linear adventuring would be fun.

- More enemies of course. A boss. And I need to fix the floating ground collision on my Old Ones.

- Music integration was a little rushed and this is my first time publishing an HTML5 build out of Game Maker, so there may be some music overlapping if you replay the game (known in Firefox for os x). Apologies for that!

- Current web build is busted in Chrome.

- Lots of subtle little player feedback polish (better invincibility once hit, knockback, etc.)

- More effects and sound effects / feedback for enemies.

- Not having late fall allergies, a cold, and starting one day late would have been awesome too!

All that said, I learned A TON in just doing this. Better able to understand controlling player animation and states, first time including sound effects, and first time setting up a game with a beginning, middle, and end.

Thanks a ton for checking this out! You rock! : D

http://imaginarymonsters.com/games/ld30/gargoyleabyss/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Graphics(Jam)4.42
#214Fun(Jam)3.33
#296Audio(Jam)3.26
#401Mood(Jam)3.05
#424Overall(Jam)3.16
#725Theme(Jam)1.96
#749Innovation(Jam)1.92
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

sanojian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Not running in Chrome. "undefined is not a function"

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

The graphics and music are fantastic. That is some A+ pixel art. Was sad to see it end so quickly. Would love to see a full version of this made.

mlabarca says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33am

I couldn't run it in chrome :/

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54am

Bummer only having 1 level. The theme felt a bit forced. Cool graphics... nice use of color. I'd suggest giving the option to jump with the up key; I think it would feel more natural.

I'm glad you learned a lot, and hope to see you in the next LD.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Thanks all. Sorry about the Chrome situation. Still figuring out the subtleties of publishing web builds from Game Maker. Runs o.k. in Safari, Firefox, and IE (I've heard) in the meantime. I'll look into uploading a desktop version too.

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Graphics from the screens looks amazing. Can't wait to play on chrome :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Its fun and plays great!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Fun game, but it's extremely short :(

Joseph Roque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

I had the same problem with chrome as other people seem to be having. Played it in Safari though and really loved the art. I would have loved to see more done with it, but it was nice for what it was. I understand the time constraints, I had the same issue and did not manage to do nearly as much :P

Contraspect says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Great game but obviously very short.

Polona says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Amazing looking game! The Animations (the flapping while he slowly drops, awesome!) , the tiles and the background.
The background sound is really good, but the shooting sound too squeeky.

Also: the german keyboard has y and z switched. Just put the actions on both key, makes it easier for us Krauts.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Great sound and excellent character design and sprite art!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Great pixel art and somewhat fluid controls, like the others
I really would have hoped to see more levels.
Great work on your Ludum Dare! Keep it up

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I love the pixel art in this, Im not sure if it was just me, but the movement when flying up seemed to move kinda rapidly, like it skipped some frames. Id love to see more done with this. I like the idea of it being an adventure game possibly, like you said in the notes. also some fluidity added to the controls instead of instant start/stop would add a lot to a game like this with the flying done the way it is. I enjoyed it though, very nice work.

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Worked fine on Safari (Mac). FUN! But Short :( Please continue working on this game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Thanks everybody! I definitely want to add more to this (though obviously not for LD30). I spent most of my time trying to make the gargoyle animations fun, then wound up with less time to expand the actual game : p lessons learned though!

@Polona – great thought on the Euro keyboard support! If I did up for jumping like @zatyka suggested controls could be arrows to move, space to fire.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02pm

@GraveyardPolice - thanks dude. The jump up state is just a single frame right now. Looking at it again it would probably work better as a wing flap down and hold on the final down frame. Good to take note of.

Oli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Good game, the character is funny but it's too short

teoacosta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

It didn't run in chrome for some reason, but I ran it in Safari without any problem. Really like the graphics and the music! Great experience!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Anybody have any experience making html5 builds from Game Maker and having them not run proper? I'm going to google around to see if there's some noob setting I'm missing.

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Sick nasty art! :D Gameplay feels really slick too. I want morreeee!

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54pm

WHAT THE HELL AM I KILLING HERE?!?

Weird enemy aside, Pixel Art is just great!

Although it's very very short, what you do have here feels really solid.

Game hints at something really cool - hope you take this further!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:44am

@creative630 - you're killing Old Ones from the Lovecraft Mythos! :D

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Wow, you weren't kidding about short. :) The graphics are super good, though, and I liked the music too! Only worked in Firefox for me, but very smooth.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:33pm

This game reminds me of Demon's Crest, I feel nostalgic now ^^ Great pixel art! :D I'd love to play the full version of this game :D

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Great graphics, but the controls seemed a bit awkward for me. If movement was WASD, it would be much more playable IMHO.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]