Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Captain Spelunker

by jobo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Captain Spelunker is tasked with getting to the treasure at the end of this very unusual cavern.

He must be wary of Amebas infesting the cavern and avoid hitting the walls.

Can you make it all the way to the end and the treasure?!

CONTROLS: SHIFT increases/maintains altitude



HOW IS THIS GAME BASED ON THE THEME?
In two ways actually.
The first is that the game is divided into two "connecting" stages/worlds.
The second way might become apparent if you realize just who Captain Spelunker is and where he is spelunking. The hints are there, but I suppose they are somewhat subtle.



This is my first ever Ludum Dare submission and the first "game project" I've ever actually finished.


PROGRAMS/TOOLS USED IN CREATION: Construct 2, Photoshop, GP5, Audacity & Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#332Humor2.73
#653Audio2.54
#778Fun2.80
#961Mood2.47
#1076Graphics2.20
#1117Overall2.48
#1180Theme1.70
#1188Innovation1.79
#2124Coolness10%

Comments

7Soul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45am

Good job finishing it. My advice is that you don't make it too difficult, as most people playing won't have the patience to try it more than a couple times.

I didn't watch my score at the end but I think I was over 15k ^^ You should have it display your highest score under your current score (unfortunately you can't change your game anymore)

Also, did you make the music yourself? Just a reminder that you can't use pre-made music (the quality of the sound makes me think you downloaded it somewhere)

Aaaand I think I know where this is... (being pink and all) But there are cannons so idk :P

jobo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Thank you for the feedback!

The game is intended to be difficult, old school style.
I didn't really expect many people(if any) would have the patience to finish the game and I basically just set the difficulty so that it would be challenging for myself.

I composed the music myself during the weekend, so no rule breaking there. The sound quality did end up pretty bad though. :/

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:37am

Nice work! I played through a few times but the second stage always got me - it's pretty hard to maintain your momentum perfectly. Only problem I had was that the first level is easy to get through, but takes a very long time (and you have to play through it again every time you die!) so after a while re-doing the first part became quite boring. Apart from that, great job on your first entry (and first game, super cool)!

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

I really liked the music! Not the best recording, but it really made the game more fun. I died a good 10 times trying to get through the first part but it was the music that kept me going. This is kind of a Flappy Bird kind of game, and I hated Flappy Bird. I liked your game a lot better! :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

Nice game, seems very difficult to finish. Well programemd though.
~funkeh

shashwat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:32am

Isn't as responsive as I hoped. Nice game

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Hi there. Good flappy clone. Find it just as impossible as original but at least keyboard doesn't get so mashed... Good job!

dtruby says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

I played it to the end, and that is more than can be said about most LD games.

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Would you like to turn on Sticky Keys?

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

It's a nice little one button game. I like the game itself, but just dislike the controls, even though it's one button!

Why oh why would you select SHIFT to be the button to hold? Haven't you heard of Sticky Keys in Windows? :)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Not much new to the gameplay here, but I liked the music and graphics. They created a nice atmosphere together. I was able to make it pretty far through the really narrow tunnel but I never got to the other side. I'm so curious to see whats out there!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:02pm

The game is quite funny even if not very original. Also, even with your explanations, i don't see the link with the theme, sorry...

Kayelgee says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Ok I get the feeling that I'm flying through a bowel and the music undermines this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]