Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kid Got Lost

by PaperboxStudios - Jam Entry

You wake up and find yourself in some strange mystical world. You know the way out is somewhere, but you can't see it, not viewing this reality.
Use your power to peer into another dimension to find your way out, but beware! If you can see the monsters lurking in the depths, then they can see you too.

Note: Web browser must support WebGL

Tools used: Gamemaker Studio
Brought to you by Paperbox Studios. Check us out at www.paperboxstudios.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Theme(Jam)4.03
#44Innovation(Jam)3.90
#51Mood(Jam)3.92
#85Fun(Jam)3.62
#91Overall(Jam)3.73
#133Audio(Jam)3.61
#192Graphics(Jam)3.86
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Nice job! The only thing that bothered me is how low you get out of the other dimensions and thus how easily ghosts kill you. Level generation rocks ;)

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00am

Nice graphics!

snooze82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:59pm

nicely done :) liked it

TautNerve says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:15pm

It was a little difficult to manage shifting dimensions
because of how long the transition back was, and I sometimes
found myself hopelessly trapped. Other than that very
interesting design and I did enjoy the visuals and sound,
so good work! Level generation is a great feature

gnuwind says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Greate game! I can't stop :) And I like your idea about two world.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Thanks for all the great comments guys! We understand that some people have commented on the fact that transitioning back from the other dimension takes a while but this was an intentional design decision which we had made as we did want our game to pose a challenge to our players.

mtrc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Fantastic entry. Loved the idea, the mechanics balance each other nicely, even level generation. Super stuff!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:29pm

very interesting design and nicely done graphics :) I found the game quite hard though since the level is randomly generated and sometimes when I tried to peek into the other dimension the monster was just next to me and I got killed instantly, feel kind of unfair. I guess the mechanics need to get tuned a bit so that the player is more informed or have more control over the changing dimension.

Capitals says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Really, Really hard. however the game looks really good and plays really well.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

@jackyjjc
Thanks for the feedback! If you have your sound on, you will notice that you can hear the ghosts when they are right above you ;)

enteagd says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Excellent game! Agree that world transition is far too punishing, but a fantastic concept and loads of potential!

FGM says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Amazing. The presentation is excellent. Music and gameplay fit nicely to create a great atmosphere. The ghosts did scare me a little. I thought back to when I was kid playing Sonic 3.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Great game, wonderful entry!

Beard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:43pm

I liked the art and overall feel of the game. Great concept!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Awesome experience, great aesthetics. great sound. great game!
Tutorial is really helpful and the gameplay is simple, challenging and addictive at the same time. nicely done! :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Hi there. Interesting modern HACK game. Not sure why you wouldn't just have the 'second sight' on all the time - perhaps it drains some resource at higher levels ? Like the haunting sounds as well as the visuals. Nicely hidden traps. Good job!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:34am

There is already the sound fx for the ghost in the normal world while they are near you so there might as well be some visual cue to warn you not to switch as well. That's one of the most frustrating parts at first until you learn to listen.

The art is super polished.

The level design or what you're actually doing needs some work to be more fun.

Cliff Lee(CK) says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Like the concept!
But ghost is a little tricky.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Cute concept, really liked the sound of the ghosts. I didn't like teleporting onto spikes. I think that was because the levels were randomly generated? Or maybe it was intentional. Great game overall

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:25am

Thanks to everyone who played and left feedback!

@mrexcessive
You will not be able to escape the ghosts unless you stop using the second sight to run past, unless you can outrun them of course :)

@Rage Paint
The teleport "traps" were intentionally designed to have a risk with use. They can potentially save you when you are cornered, but are not a guarantee.

SnapDragon says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:12am

Good game

Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Very atmospheric, I liked the mood and the idea was pretty cool too.

sephyka says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Very very nice graphics and mood. I'm in love with it.
At the first time, I died all the time because of the traps I didn't see on the ground. :p

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]