Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Too Close to Die

by hb3p8 - Jam Entry

For two hundred years The War is lasting betwen twin planets Bibora and Azamath.
You are desperate smuggler delivering goods into blockaded Azamath.
Evade asteroids and occupying forces for great profit!

Goal:

Your main goal is to land on red planet as quickly as you can.

Controls:

wasd - movement
mouse left - fire

Game is a bit hardcore, but you'll handle it!

by ozzbl (@falkonerr) and hb3p8 (@hb3p8)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#151Fun(Jam)3.47
#247Theme(Jam)3.46
#280Overall(Jam)3.37
#306Audio(Jam)3.23
#386Humor(Jam)2.42
#410Mood(Jam)3.04
#466Innovation(Jam)2.89
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00

Comments

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice game, congrats!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:05am

Very nice entry! The graphics where nice, the audio suited fairly well and the game was fun. The steering was a bit hard, but this is most likely intentional. Overall a solid game (Only had a little bit of issues with the first button that lets you start, but this was on the web-based version)

eastes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:07am

Addictive!

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09am

Good job, we were inspired by games like this to make ours look at ours: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=42021

biscuitWizard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12am

Smuggling medicine, enough for a town. Only needed enough for my mother. Feel bad about it, but need to get through blockade. Through to the red planet, the only place they can't find us. Federalists spot me, they were hiding behind an asteroid.

They're always hiding behind asteroids.

Accelerate, dodging left and right. They'll never catch me. Ho! Crap! There's a Federalist cruiser, I'm so boned right now. They'll know it's me. Activate my ECM technology, their LADAR is too big to catch my tiny ship. As they fire on me, I push the rest of what my ship has into the thrusts. Ionized gas is leaking from my hull, my computer says I should be dead right now with this hull breach.

Just a bit further..!

I smacked into the planet and died.

10/10 would play again.

soerxpso says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12am

I like the way the ship handles. It's a little hard to get used to, but very fun once you do.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15am

Cool! I like that the controls take some getting used to; they are sort of Flappy Bird-esque in that way (and I mean that as complimenet :P). The narrative arc (asteroids -> space ships -> screen flip -> big ships -> lunar lander) helps build tension as you get progressively further, and I like the symmetry it brings to the game (is also very appropriate for the theme).

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15am

After trying to go slow and be defensive, and losing five times, I just held down the accelerator and made it all the way to the other side! Hooray for random asteroids :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:18am

Fun game! Took me like 30 tries to get to the other planet, and then suddenly I got there with 110hp :)
To me the asteroids were a bit OP compared to the shots.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20am

Awww, this was fun. I've downloaded it after playing it online, I WANT to beat it later :D The music is fine, it paces your heart for playing. Keep it up! :)

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:27am

If you think your game is hard, try mine :P

Anyway, the idea is pretty nice, and it is fairly easy to get to the other world. The problem is landing there... The area to land in is a bit too narrow. It would be nice if it could be a larger platform, moonlander-style. Also, the controls feel a bit weird and floaty. The engine acceleration feels a bit too sudden, and the rotation is too big. I tap the key a bit and the ship rotates like 60 degrees. If you are using a rigidbody for it, I would recommend using AddForce on keydown, and increasing the angular drag. On a more positive note, I like the audio and grpahics, and the use of the theme is pretty good! Congrats on finishing a game!

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35am

Eyh, this is quite nice!
Controls are a bit hard, and the camera doesn't give much time to react to "OH GOD AN ASTEROID IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF M---", but it's really fun. Love the way the game is turned around when you reach the red planet atmosphere.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59am

Thanks for your feedback, guys! We are very happy you enjoyed our game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08am

This game was so fun.Controlling the space ship with the different gravitys was great but I found the cannon too hard to use .I enjoyed the music and sfx but I think you should have had a sound for the thrusters. The graphics were also quite nice add the change in colour of the background was a very nice touch.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:55am

Great idea for a twist on the classic lunar lander :) Nice physics and "battle elements." Storming through a war field was quite intense (though I'll admit that I crashed on the other planet :().

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Nice Game. Fun to play with :)

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Nice game, although I did get stuck against the ground with 0 hit points and couldn't move or cause myself any more damage so I had to reload the page. Still though, this is a great game considering it only took 3 days to make. Good work!

Duncan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Fantastic stuff, the little shuttle you play kinda reminds me of serenity.

SilverToad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Alloy of two old school gameplays. Dynamic fun +)

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Yes, it's very hard game, i could only once get to the boss ship, but i died fast. It reminds me a game, what was almost my favourite 8 years ago, but it's more cool :D

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

nice take on the theme. the gravity swap is pretty cool and a welcome change in the game pace!

Peping says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Wow, this was tough! I'm set on beating it though! Great game!

villhest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:00am

I really liked it! Nice controls!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:03am

Great job. :-) Steering is a bit hard but everything else is nice. :-)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09am

Really challenging! I've downloaded to beat it when I've more time :)

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:36pm

0HP and no dead, and if I collide with an asteroid I have 3 secondes to run before I died. Nice game but very hard because of collisions and some minor bugs that makes the game very hard.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Great game, well done!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Very challenging game! No one would fall asleep playing this! This is what hardcore gaming is all about :)

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

Nice entry! I liked the presentation and the reversal of the screen after you get halfway there. An indication for collisions into asteroids would have helped the feel of the game. Also, it seems the damage is always the same amount from collisions, I think it would be better if it scaled with the speed of the ship, maybe with the angle of the collision as well.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:29am

Cool game. :D And a very nice take on the theme. Loved the particle explosions.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Fun game, graphics do the trick. Very good

handkor says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:38am

Nice effect for the bullet hits. This game is fun, good concept.

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:09am

cool game

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:44pm

It is pretty hardcore, yes, and I was about to quit, but managed to reach the other planet just in my to-be-last attempt. But sheesh, you don't give much room for error during the landing! You could have at least made that part a bit wider, now that the player finally reached that place. >.<

Still, decent entry, though not particularly outstanding against the others. ^^"

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Wasted! A bit hardcore is an understatement. Classic mechanics and nice graphics. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]